Adobo Chicken with Ginger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I used boneless skinless chicken and left out the ginger since I didn't have any. Browned the chicken. Then I started off with 1 cup low sodium soy sauce & 3/4 cup white vinegar it was to tart to me and keep mixing the soy &vinegar to my liking it was still a little tart so I added 3tsp brown sugar & 1 cup water. Brought it to a boil & let it simmer for about 3 hrs adding a little water to keep chicken covered. I still gave this recipe 5 stars because it is a great starting point and it was delicious my whole family loved it! As others reviewers have stated I think the key to this recipe is finding the right balance between the soy & vinegar and adjusting it to your tastes=) Next time I will try it with the ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I've never had Adobo chicken before so I can't comment on authenticity as other reviewers have, but I thorough enjoyed it. I loved the tangy flavour and the sauce was amazing over rice and veggies. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruby_cube

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by Erica
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This was great! My husband and kids loved it! Will make again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Very tasty and definitely a keeper. I make adobo all the time. Ginger adds a nice touch. I browned my chicken first in garlic and not too much oil. Then cooked all for about 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Thank you for this perfect adobo recipe! Yeah I'm filipino and I love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie C

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Paranaque, National Capital Region, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
this recipe is great. this is very similar to how my filipino mother cooks adobo except she puts more soy sauce then vinegar. A tip to reducing the tanginess flavor is by adding a pinch of baking soda until u reach your desired flavor of tanginess. works like a charm :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Boni Fasho

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Too much vinegar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeloVlog

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This recipe is SO good! Even my Filipino friends flip for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by operaphantom2005

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
The vinegar was way too overpowering. I'm filipino and this is NOT how it should taste. Its not clear to me how this got such a high rating. Why doesn't allrecipes have the option for me to rate 0 stars??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
marinate for awhile
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States