Adobo Chicken with Ginger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Awesome. Had a craving for adobe chicken at 11 at night...so I got up and made some. For those that thought the vinegar was too much, I would suspect that you did not let enough liquid content evaporate. It takes a good hour if not a slight longer to get the desired taste. I tasted it before it was ready and the vinegar was very strong. After a while though, all the flavor blended perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ypoitras
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I liked a lot. All the family liked enough to eat everything, only that, is enough to deserve at least 4 stars because it's rare! My wife thinks that the vinegar taste is too present. I agree a little bit, but I liked as it was. I overcooked the chicken a little bit, I don't cook it that way, usually, and to me, it looked uncooked. Next time, I will listen better to the directions! I realize, looking at others photos, that maybe I should have cut bigger pieces of chicken. I will do it again, it deserves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ypoitras
Home Town: Trois-Rivieres, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Quebec, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Staple crowd pleaser
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
family favorite. I like to take out the chicken after it is done cooking and fry in heated oil to crisp the skin. Then we like a little thicker sauce for your rice, and add a tablespoon corn sauce to 1/4 cup water and stir in simmering sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMAKOWSKY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I tried to take too many reviewer suggestions. I did marinate my chicken thighs, but then I tried to brown it, and that did not work. I may try it next time the alternative way, but the marination without browning still tasted darn good. If I had cooked the chicken for the full 30 min (since I did not use the whole chicken), it would have been overcooked. I used the condensed sauce to sautee some long beans to really good results too. This recipe is definitely a repeat!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Yum-o. Served with couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rdsxlolo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eastchester, New York, USA
Living In: Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
We love this! My only changes were to cook in a slow cooker for 8 -10 hours, used 1/4 cup vinegar, and added 1/2 cup of water. Also, I was too busy to peel and chopped garlic, so I used 2 heaping teaspoons of jarred minced garlic. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I was looking for a dish to make for girl scout international Night (we did the Philippines). And I found this. WOW this went over fantastically. I did 10 lbs and came home with less than a cup. I did follow the recomended changes. (used 1/4 cup Apple Cider Vinegar added 1 cup water. Used ground ginger). This has been added to our main dishes to cook. WOW amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BellaByrdie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I used my own variation and it turned out delicious! I don't like cooking twice so i just boiled everything on medium heat for about 35 minutes with the lid on. I used chicken thighs which always seem to pick up the marinade well. I didn't even have to let it sit in the marinade! I used the Braggs amino acids since I was on some diet earlier. I used about 1/4 cup braggs amino acids, 1 cup water, more if the juices are drying out too much (the juices will dry out even with the lid on), garlic powder, black pepper, and about 1-2 tablespoons of rice vinegar. I'm not a fan of vinegar, so less is better for me. I then put them all in the pot, pierced the skinless chicken thighs with a fork, and let it simmer on medium heat. then ate it with rice, now i'm addicted to it! yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
This is a great recipe, but I did make a few changes to suit my family's tastes. I used white wine vinegar, instead of the distilled white. I also used only skinless chicken leg quarters, since breast meat can be rather dry if braised too long. And, I browned the chicken in a little canola oil before adding the soy-vinegar mixture. Finally, after the meat was cooked, I skimmed the fat off the top before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States