Adobo Chicken with Ginger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
This is very similar to what my mom use to make when I was little. All I do is combine all the ingredients in a large dutch oven (used alittle more soy sauce, the low sodium kind, and cut the vinegar to 1/2 cup and added 1 cup of water, this was it won't turn out too vinegar tasting) and put about 3 lbs of drumstick in and bring it to a boil, reduce heat and let simmer for 30 mins. The one thing that I love to do with this dish is to boil a few eggs in another pot until it's firm, peel them and stick them in the pot and stir it all up, it's not too often we eat hard boil eggs, and it's great this way served on a bed of hot jasmine or basmati rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I'm not an expert cook and this dish was so easy to make. My adobo normally comes out with little flavor and too watery. I followed the recipe along with some tips from the other reviews and this time it turned out the way it's suppose to be! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Okay. Very salty. And the chicken ended up with a bit of a funny texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
This was super yummy!!! I used dark meat chicken thighs still on the bone, and it was delicious! Everything else - I followed exactly as the recipe stated. My boyfriend loved it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
I made this for a friend who loves Adobo Chicken and lived in the Philippines. He said there shouldn't be any ginger or black peppercorns in it. I also used some cornstarch at the end to help thicken the sauce a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Satellite Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
I grew up on chicken adobo, and this is fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by afoodlover4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Huron, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
I just made this twice now (in the same evening!) and loved it. First off, I used rice vinegar and a Philipino soy sauce. I read all the user reviews and was terrified about the amount of vinegar; DO NOT change the amount of vinegar used...just add 1 cup of water. Then towards the end of cooking I added cornstarch to thicken. It had such good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
Definitely a dish to make again and again. I use chicken breasts on the bone cut in half instead of dark meat. You can't get easier than throwing everything in pot and turning the flame on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LApagmom2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shaker Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
Yum! Just like my Lola used to make....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
WOW! simply the best Filipino Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 253) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States