Adobo Chicken with Ginger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Delicious! Served over white rice and it was incredible, even the kids had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
This chicken is amazing! I fixed it almost exactly following the recipe. I used low-sodium soy sauce, 3 cloves of garlic, and 3/4 pound of chicken breasts (to serve 3). The sauce doesn't need to be diluted - other reviewers made me nervous about the strength of the vinegar, but the recipe's amount of vinegar is perfect without any added water. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
a lot of strong flavors here. just to balance everything out, i would suggest a healthy splash of sprite or coke! (dont be scared!) when i do my adobo, i marinate the chicen overnight in... no measurements, but pepper, soy sauce, vinegar, lemon juice, and sprite or coke. the sweetness of the soda rounds out the other strong flavors. to cook, i sautee garlic, tomato, and onion, then add and brown the chicken... add the leftover marinade, let it cook...peas at the end so it doesnt get mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
Oh yum! Really, really good recipe! I was a little skeptical about the ginger, since the chicken adobo I've always made never called for it, but it brought the dish to a whole new level. Plus, the whole kitchen smelled SO good all night after making it. Do add the chopped sweet onion, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I made this recipe last night and I got RAVE reviews from my husband, but I did make some adjustments...My step mother is from the heart of Manila and I remember going to Manila and spending lots of time there being cooked for by everyone...so my memory of Chicken Adobo was a bit different... I used 1 cup of chicken stock/broth instead of water. 1/4 cup of White Wine, 1/4 cup of Orange juice, 2 small potatoes. I also chose to brown the chicken in a pan with a bit of oil, garlic, onion and ginger and then added it to the cup of chicken stock/broth in the sauce pan. I did the same with the potatoes, letting them simmer for about 8 minutes before adding them to the mixture. Then I added the rest of the onion (I used one medium sized yellow onion.), garlic and ginger. As far as the vinegar/soy mix. I used 1 pound, .50 kilo's of boneless, skinless chicken thighs, chunked, so I adjusted the mix to 3/4 cup of soy sauce and I used 3/4 cup of vinegar (Half white and half wine) Turned out...extraordinary!!!!!!! I will be making this one again...and again..........and again!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
I'm 1/2 Filipino and this is similar to what I grew up on. I brown the chicken first with onion and garlic, then simmer with water, low sodium soy sauce, and rice vinegar. I throw in a couple bay leaves, a few peppercorns (don't omit these, they are wonderful!) season with pepper, onion & garlic powder. I don't think I use as much vinagar as this recipe calls for, but like a previous viewer said, it takes more than one try to balance the water/soy sauce/vinegar mixture to your taste. I'd probably just add extra water to this recipe. The other hint is to use low sodium soy sauce, this dish can tend to get very salty with regular soy sauce. I've never tried ginger, but I will next time I make this dish! My husband's family (they're German) love this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaboMama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
I made this recipe to the tee and it came out to sour and a bulb of garic was a bit much I would suggest a half cup vingar and two cloves of garic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brighton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I love chicken adobo... I make it from time to time but not following any particular recipe. I thought i would follow this recipe and see how it turns out. I thought the vinegar was way to overpowering. I think its best to use equal parts soy/vinegar. I also prefer to add aprox. 1 cup of water.(which i didnt do with this recipe) It ended up way to strong. I give it a 3 because i wouldn't make it following this exact recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
This was great served on the rice!! I added one cup of water because I thought it would be too strong. I should have just let it alone. Will definitely be making again. Served this with green beans and corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VicWarren2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Decatur, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Excellent! This tastes is just like my mother's adobo. I added one cup of water as another reviewer suggested and it turned out perfect. I forgot to buy fresh ginger at the market so I used the powdered kind. It still turned out great. We're having it for dinner again tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Isleton, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States