Adobo Chicken with Ginger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
AWESOME! I think there was too much vinegar involved.. maybe next time i'll lessen a tad of it. but overall, its pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
My whole family loves this. I make it in the slow cooker using chicken thighs and serve it with Jasmine rice and steamed broccoli. (For some reason broccoli really goes well with adobo.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Jakubowski Matteson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lowville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
Thank you for sharing this flavorful recipe.My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed it. This recipe has become a "keeeper" for mke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
Will definitely make it again when I'm craving chicken adobo. I followed a tip to not stir/disturb the meat otherwise it'll make it more vinegar tasting. There was a little tweaking to adjust for 2 people using 6 drumsticks+skin on (1.5 lb of meat), 1/2 the size of the original recipe basically. However, I used rice vinegar which is milder than American white vinegar. Minced up the ginger instead, used ready made minced garlic from a jar in our fridge instead whole fresh garlic, added equal parts of regular soy sauce to vinegar to water which was close to 1/4 cup of each & 1/4 cup of chicken broth. I basted the chicken with the liquid trying not to disturb the meat every 10 mins during that 30 mins which turned out still moist since my pot wasn't dutch oven type which would be smaller in comparison to the dutch oven. I ended up removing the chicken & adding cornstarch to the liquid to thicken the sauce. Will definitely make it again & consider using peppers for some spice or even the slow cooker to make it even more tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WANSHAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
Taking a hint, I used 2/3c rice vinegar, 2/3c pineapple juice, and 2/3c soy sauce, which gave the dish a nice sweet and sour flavor. Also, I slow cooked the chicken an hour so it was very tender and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
My mom is phillipino and this dish is a regular dish served at parties that her or her friends have. I love this recipe. The only things I would change about this recipe is lessen the ginger (it's a little too much),add some corn starch to thicken it up the sauce and use the sauce over the rice- it's delicious! You could also add some potatoes and make it a little more hardy. It's so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
I rated this a 5 but changed it a little...I used 8 chicken legs & 6 thighs (skin on). 1 cup garlic red wine vinegar, 3/4 cup soy sauce, 1/2 bulb garlic, 1 can chicken broth, 1/2 onion and the rest of the ingredients are the same as original recipe. I let this cook in the crockpot for 4 hours. I served this over Jasmine rice. The family could not get enough. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ontario, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Delicious! Served over white rice and it was incredible, even the kids had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
This chicken is amazing! I fixed it almost exactly following the recipe. I used low-sodium soy sauce, 3 cloves of garlic, and 3/4 pound of chicken breasts (to serve 3). The sauce doesn't need to be diluted - other reviewers made me nervous about the strength of the vinegar, but the recipe's amount of vinegar is perfect without any added water. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
a lot of strong flavors here. just to balance everything out, i would suggest a healthy splash of sprite or coke! (dont be scared!) when i do my adobo, i marinate the chicen overnight in... no measurements, but pepper, soy sauce, vinegar, lemon juice, and sprite or coke. the sweetness of the soda rounds out the other strong flavors. to cook, i sautee garlic, tomato, and onion, then add and brown the chicken... add the leftover marinade, let it cook...peas at the end so it doesnt get mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 253) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States