Adobo Chicken with Ginger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
This is the best Chicken Adobo I've ever had! It is 100% authentic (I lived in the Philippines for two years) One tip - use Silver Swan soy sauce (you can get it at Filipino stores), it is the most popular soy sauce in the Philippines and is a million times better than kikkoman or any other american soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
My family loved this. Thank you. I may try all chicken breast next time as it was a little fattening but worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
I absolutely loved this recipe! It was SOO quick and delicious (not to mention cheap). I used chicken thighs (which were on sale for a dollar a pound). As many other reviewers suggested, I changed the ratio of vinegar to soy sauce. I only used 1/2 a cup of white vinegar, and 1/2 a cup of soy sauce. I sauteed the onions, ginger, garlic, and bay leaves first, then added the remaining ingredients. I added potatoes, one green chile (for some kick) and topped it off with chopped green onions. It was delicious! In fact, I think it tastes better the next day! I will be making this for many years to come, or for as long as chicken thighs are put on sale. =) Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
AWESOME! I think there was too much vinegar involved.. maybe next time i'll lessen a tad of it. but overall, its pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
My whole family loves this. I make it in the slow cooker using chicken thighs and serve it with Jasmine rice and steamed broccoli. (For some reason broccoli really goes well with adobo.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Jakubowski Matteson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lowville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
Thank you for sharing this flavorful recipe.My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed it. This recipe has become a "keeeper" for mke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
Will definitely make it again when I'm craving chicken adobo. I followed a tip to not stir/disturb the meat otherwise it'll make it more vinegar tasting. There was a little tweaking to adjust for 2 people using 6 drumsticks+skin on (1.5 lb of meat), 1/2 the size of the original recipe basically. However, I used rice vinegar which is milder than American white vinegar. Minced up the ginger instead, used ready made minced garlic from a jar in our fridge instead whole fresh garlic, added equal parts of regular soy sauce to vinegar to water which was close to 1/4 cup of each & 1/4 cup of chicken broth. I basted the chicken with the liquid trying not to disturb the meat every 10 mins during that 30 mins which turned out still moist since my pot wasn't dutch oven type which would be smaller in comparison to the dutch oven. I ended up removing the chicken & adding cornstarch to the liquid to thicken the sauce. Will definitely make it again & consider using peppers for some spice or even the slow cooker to make it even more tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WANSHAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
Taking a hint, I used 2/3c rice vinegar, 2/3c pineapple juice, and 2/3c soy sauce, which gave the dish a nice sweet and sour flavor. Also, I slow cooked the chicken an hour so it was very tender and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
My mom is phillipino and this dish is a regular dish served at parties that her or her friends have. I love this recipe. The only things I would change about this recipe is lessen the ginger (it's a little too much),add some corn starch to thicken it up the sauce and use the sauce over the rice- it's delicious! You could also add some potatoes and make it a little more hardy. It's so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
I rated this a 5 but changed it a little...I used 8 chicken legs & 6 thighs (skin on). 1 cup garlic red wine vinegar, 3/4 cup soy sauce, 1/2 bulb garlic, 1 can chicken broth, 1/2 onion and the rest of the ingredients are the same as original recipe. I let this cook in the crockpot for 4 hours. I served this over Jasmine rice. The family could not get enough. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ontario, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States