Adobo Chicken with Ginger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
This recipe is easy, tasty and great and the food tasted very close to ones that my Philippino friends cooked for me. I used a pressure cooker to shorten the cooking time and it worked perfect. After I cooked chicken in the pressure cooker, I let the sauce simmer for a little bit. Jasmine rice went perfect with the adobo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miss H

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I felt like making this in the crockpot one day and used boneless chicken breasts instead. It was okay but the recipe is definitely better as is, made in a Dutch oven with bone-in chicken. The nice thing about the boneless version was it made a great cold salad for lunch the next day. Just pour the leftover sauce and shredded chicken over leftover rice and chill. Add green onions and chopped artichoke hearts and diced red peppers the next day and voila. Great as is or over lettuce with a ginger dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Easy, tasty and the even the two year old liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama of four

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Awesome. We just adjusted the soy sauce a bit (added some more). The best soy sauce for this is the Lauriat soy sauce (it has a swan on its red label). The vinegar is called Datu Puti. Our Phillipino friend, who makes the BEST adobo in the world, only cooks adobo with these two brands. If you want it spicy, add little pieces of Thai chili pepper to taste, also known as rocket pepper. Habanero peppers work as well. GREAT recipe, basic but authentic. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mayte_Spain

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
This was an easy recipe and with red wine vinegar I found it pretty tasty too. Next time I wouldn't cook the sauce as long because it carmelized and there wasn't much to put on rice. I think the balance of soy to vinegar was fine, but the sauce could be better with a little water and sugar added to sweeten and make it less strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
We loved this! Anything with vinegar, garlic and chicken gets my attention because you know it is going to be fall-off-the-bone good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Made these last night in conjuction with my Traci's Adobo Seasoning and Chicken Adobo II. Boiled the chicken with that recipe and this recipe and subbed the salt with MSG (this is how my grandma cooks Adobo). Once the chicken was mostly tender, I added the potatoes. When the potatoes were done, I strained the chicken while reserving 1/2 the broth. Then I finished off the chicken with Chicken Adobo II. Time consuming but the 3 recipes put together is the closest that I could get to my grandma's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
might have been the soy sauce that wasn't quite the right kind, but this did not taste the same as in the Philippines which is sad because it is so tasty there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Hmm.. this recipe looks nice, but i'd add 2 tbs of brown sugar. But then again every family makes their adobo a lil bit different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cutie Cooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Excellent! I reduced the amount of vingear somewhat. Its fast, easy and delicious! Definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Chania, Crete, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States