Adobo Chicken with Ginger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I think this is the best recipe I've seen online so far. Sounds the most authentic to how my mom cooked it for us growing up. Now that I've moved away from home, I still crave for my mom's adobo, but if I can't get it from her, I'll use this recipe to fill my void. Serve with steaming jasmine rice and DO drizzle the sauce over your rice. SO GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
This recipe is great. Reminds me of my mom's adobo. I didn't add ginger or bay leaves. I cooked the chicken first, then halfway through browning the chicken I added some onion. Then added all the other ingredients. I don't know if it would've tasted better with ginger but this was the best adobo I've ever made. People who are new to adobo might find the vinegary taste a little bit strong. The other adobos I've had (my mom's and grandma's) don't use ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sillymuffin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
GREAT chicken adobo recipe. A friend of mine that was Filipino used to make chicken adobo, and I have been wanting a good recipe for it. This recipe is easy and delicious! My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akbecca81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Egegik, Alaska, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
different, very very good, thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Pipe Creek, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
This recipe is easy, tasty and great and the food tasted very close to ones that my Philippino friends cooked for me. I used a pressure cooker to shorten the cooking time and it worked perfect. After I cooked chicken in the pressure cooker, I let the sauce simmer for a little bit. Jasmine rice went perfect with the adobo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miss H

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I felt like making this in the crockpot one day and used boneless chicken breasts instead. It was okay but the recipe is definitely better as is, made in a Dutch oven with bone-in chicken. The nice thing about the boneless version was it made a great cold salad for lunch the next day. Just pour the leftover sauce and shredded chicken over leftover rice and chill. Add green onions and chopped artichoke hearts and diced red peppers the next day and voila. Great as is or over lettuce with a ginger dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Easy, tasty and the even the two year old liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama of four

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Awesome. We just adjusted the soy sauce a bit (added some more). The best soy sauce for this is the Lauriat soy sauce (it has a swan on its red label). The vinegar is called Datu Puti. Our Phillipino friend, who makes the BEST adobo in the world, only cooks adobo with these two brands. If you want it spicy, add little pieces of Thai chili pepper to taste, also known as rocket pepper. Habanero peppers work as well. GREAT recipe, basic but authentic. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mayte_Spain

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
This was an easy recipe and with red wine vinegar I found it pretty tasty too. Next time I wouldn't cook the sauce as long because it carmelized and there wasn't much to put on rice. I think the balance of soy to vinegar was fine, but the sauce could be better with a little water and sugar added to sweeten and make it less strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
We loved this! Anything with vinegar, garlic and chicken gets my attention because you know it is going to be fall-off-the-bone good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Garlic Ginger Chicken Wings

See how to make saucy oven-fried chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States