Adobo Chicken with Ginger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Easy to make and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
im filipino and this dish is definitely a staple during parties and special events.. it is simple, easy to make..and definitely yummy...i just want you guys to try out putting a bit of white sugar..yes what you read is right..white sugar... to the mixture approximately half a cup, to thicken the mixture and give it a nice sweet, salty, sour taste. it's also a great way to balance out the vinegar for those who used too much. believe me it's gonna add more flavor to your dish...enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Oh man, this is wonderful! I had a bunch of friends over - one of whom has a gluten allergy - and to be able to whip this up in no time without really leaving the party was awesome. Not only that, but it got rave reviews and there was NONE left over! I cubed the chicken for ease of serving, but man, there's nothing I could do to improve this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FlinchOnce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
This is so easy to make and equally delicious! I've been craving it ever since I made it! I sliced a yellow onion into 1/4" slices and sauteed those a bit before adding the chicken and liquids. It adds a little something extra! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Star_Eyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
this was a great recipe. Even mine dad(780) liked it. Thanks Alexandra
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
This is my favorite chicken dish to date!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
This recipe is OK. I used 1/2 cup of vinegar instead of 3/4 cup and added 1/2 cup of water. In the end, the vinegar was still too overpowering for my taste. It didn't taste like any of the Adobo that I ate while spending time in the Philippines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kateskitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Very good. I made this in the crock pot - just removed as much of the skin as possible, threw all the ingredients in, and cooked it on low for 6 hours. Fall off the bone scrumptious. At 5 hours, I pulled the chicken into pieces so it could all simmer in the sauce. Easy and smelled heavenly. 2/3 cup vinegar seems excessive. For the liquids, I used 1 c chicken broth, 1/2 c vinegar, and 1/4 c soy sauce. Would do the same again. This is definately a recipe I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
My husband and I love adobo, even tho it has been years since either of us have eaten it. I was so excited about this recipe - but our double batch is going in the garbage. The vinegar is too overpowering, and my husband likes vinegar! He's trying it with sour cream (yuck) because we hate throwing away food. I'll keep looking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I first had Chicken Adobo when a Philipino co-worker brought it for lunch one day. It smelled SO good and she let me try it. After that I fell in love and she brought it for me all the time. I never did get her recipe and have since moved away. I searched and searched for a recipe that I think was similiar and finally found it with this recipe. It tastes almost identical! I add more garlic and bit more peppercorn. Smells so good while it's cooking. Hubby loves it! I serve it with brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thisgurlluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States