Adel's Red Wine Steak Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I was really enthused about trying this because with all these great ingredients I thought I'd end up with something exceptional. Truthfully?... It wasn't until after I had finished the steak, which hubs grilled, that I remembered I had marinaded it! In other words, it's not that the marinade tastes bad, I just couldn't taste it at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Very tasty - Used in slow cooker with Lamb and cabernet sauvignon. Substituted sage for coriander and added Fig vinegar. Can't wait to try this with other meats-Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
tasty but i think it had too much going on which is funny because i usually like marinades with a ton of different things in them. also the wine i used was getting old, would want to work with this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
My family liked the marinade (4 stars) but loved the suace (5 stars) that the simmered down portion made. I used an inexpensive Burgandy and omitted the coriander to suit my crew's tastes. Will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RanchMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Excellent!! I used this to marinate pork chops and it was fantastic! I had some leftover FETZER cabernet sauvignon to find a recipe for and chose this. I used 1/4 tsp. garlic powder in place of the minced garlic and omitted the cumin and coriander (added parsley instead). While grilling we sprinkled a little sea salt and coarse ground pepper over the tops. This marinade recipe is a keeper for us. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Oh Yeah!! This is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyKathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chelmsford, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Great marinade for fillets. No complaints here about anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodstock, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dunwoody, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I used sherry and low-sodium soy sauce and thought the taste was lacking, especially in salt content. Next time I'll add some salt or use regular soy sauce and a better red wine. Will also let sit in marinade overnight instead of a couple hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
Excellent marinade. I used the dry substances as a rub and added coffee grounds to the mix. I also omitted the oil. This is similar to a marinade I use regularly, I think I'll make this one my regular. Thank for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LLSANTIMORE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
A+ Adelle, this is one terrific marinade for steaks! I halved the recipe for two strip steaks & marinated about 10 hours. They were so flavorful and moist, terrific! I made exactly as written using a pinot noir. This is a definite do over. Thank you for sharing your recipe with AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Cook with Wine

Build rich flavors in sauces and reductions by simply adding a splash of wine!

Quick Tartar Sauce

Delicious homemade sauce with just four ingredients.

Chef John's Remoulade 2.0

Not just for fish sticks anymore! This easy ‘tarter sauce’ is super versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States