Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I screwed these up due to my own mistakes. First problem was that I did not know how to prepare the mashed sweet potatoes from raw ones. second part, my fault entirely, was that I decided to lower the quantity based on one can of beans and 2 sweet potatoes. But I did not remember to reduce the amount of onion. And one whole onion was too much, spoiling the texture and flavor. They might have been good if I lowered the ratio of onion,.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURISSIMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Texarkana, Texas, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I decided to sub black beans for the kidneys as well. You can go a little heavier on the chili/cumin/cayenne spices as well. I used 1/2 of the mustard and a little less soy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Fantastic! Made a pot of pinto beans and used them instead of kidney beans. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
A vegetarian, heavy burrito. It was very, very filling with the starches. I should have QUARTERED the recipe for two people. I did use black beans instead as other reviewers suggested. I liked it — my picky husband didn't (but he hardly likes anything so don't let that stop you). It wasn't as crazy as I thought it would be with the combination of ingredients — they actually complemented quite well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I thought the texture and tastelessness of the sweet potato was horrible next to the bean mixture. Maybe I would make again with just the bean mixture but I don't think so because this was yuck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Tried it as a casserole as one reviewer had suggested. So stinkin' good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
OMG yum yum!!! I usually don't like sweet potatoes but this recipe changed my mind. This recipe is a winner but I think next time I'll omit the soy sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This is a great vegetarian alternative! Instead of a burrito, I turned mine into an enchilada. I only made a few modifications. 1) Replaced kidney beans with Black beans. 2) After folding tortillas, I topped with mole sauce (store bought, I'm not talented enough to master my own) then cheddar cheese. 3) Served with salsa and sour cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGold00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kittanning, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I followed other reader's suggestions and added black beans instead of kidney beans and added cinnamon to the sweet potatoes. I made it vegan without cheese but I am sure its great with cheese. I had lots of leftovers so I froze them for my lunches which as of this writing are all gone. Gotta make some more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MtnNanny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallingford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Franklin, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
We just didn't care for the sweet potato burritos. I felt the potatoes needed more mexican seasoning. A mexican blend cheese would have been nice as well, instead of plain cheddar. I think a chipotle/sour cream dipping sauce would have accompanied these burritos....I don't know why I didn't think of that while making this recipe. Another change I would make is use black beans or pinto beans instead of kidney.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LED87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,597) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

These vegetarian burritos have a slightly spicy and utterly addictive flavor.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States