Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I really liked this recipe though I did make numerous changes. The most important one is I used BUTTERNUT SQUASH instead of sweet potatoes!! I cooked and mashed it just like a sweet potato. I am on a diet that uses Points and with the squash I don't need to count those starchy vegetable points. I also substituted curry powder for the cumin, added 4 tsp. of taco seasoning, used honey mustard, and used high fiber no fat tortilla wraps. Also I used chicken broth in place of water and mashed my kidney beans ahead with a potato masher. I also cooked the filling all together, not separate, and simmered for 15 minutes. I'll definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Delicious, didn't miss the meat at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Almere, Flevoland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I thought this was delicious! My husband made this last night, and boy was it tasty. Such a simple, healthy, delicious meal. I would definitely recommend this dish. He bought extra sweet potato's, so we can have another night this week. And it was so filling too! Gave me lots of energy the next morning when I ran.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I was looking for a healthy alternative and this was just darn good. I didn't have kidney beans so had to substitute Garbonzos and black beans. My family absolutely loved it! Place quartered sweet potatoes in the crock pot for 8 hours on low (4 hours on high) and they'll be done in time for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leoyak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
My whole family loved these. Even my 13-year-old daughter who hates beans loved them. She said they tasted just like burritos to her. Due to soy allergy I used coconut aminos instead in place of soy sauce. Just thought I would throw that out there in case anyone could use the tip. This recipe made alot. We have an entire pan for freezing and some left-over for lunches tomorrow. I used 3 cans black beans and 3 large sweet potatoes. Served with sour cream and and pico. I was very nervous about this, but so glad we gave it a go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi Bush

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I have made this recipe before...didn't get the recipe from here, but it is almost identical. I used black beans and they were FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
The whole family liked these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Delicious and nutritious. Top with fresh tomatoes and salsa and eat with a fork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
We have made this recipe a LOT! I have two boys under five and they both love them. We always use black beans...if you love burritos and are looking for a nice variation...this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
My hubby and I loved this recipe. Like some other reviewers, I used BLACK beans (1 can ...halved the recipe) and would recommend less water/liquid. I roasted chunks of sweet potato with some olive oil and cumin rather than mashing. Served with sour cream and homemade guacamole... delicious and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,670) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

These vegetarian burritos have a slightly spicy and utterly addictive flavor.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States