Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2015
Really good! I did what another reviewer did and just mixed the beans in with the sweet potato mixture. That way, for me, there's only one container to deal with. I also added the spices to the onion when it was almost done sauteeing and let it cook for about a minute, to bring out the flavors of the spices. I also subbed chicken broth for the water and black beans for the kidney (seems more Mexican). I look forward to making it a meal with the fixings as I only sampled out of the pot (couldn't wait). Thanks for the nice recipe, Karena!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2015
Loved it! Instead of kidney beans, used 1 can pinto, 1 can black beans, and 1cup corn as another reviewer suggested. Otherwise followed the recipe as written. I've never been a big fan of sweet potato but my husband is, so I gave this a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2015
This recipe is great! I cook mine more like smothered burritos with canned green or red enchilada sauce (or both!) and more cheese on top (the more cheese the better!). I also used black beans instead of kidney beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
good I'll save for quarterly meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janalee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Johnston, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
With the beans I put 2 cans of black beans 1 of chick peas and 1 of lentils. Mashed them up before I put it in the pan. Once in the pan I put 1/2 cup of chicken stock and about a cup of water and stirred it frequently. They were in the pan for about 15 min. Then I added all the seasoning while still in the pan.. Instead of cumin I put curry powder. And the other spicy thing I put just a little bit of paprika. Make sure you use normal mustard. I used Mexican four cheese. Also took advice and sprayed the parchment lappet with olive oil pan to make it a little bit crispy. The beans mashed by themselves with the spices and a can of sweet corn make an exccelent bean dip. Also dsweet potato goes best with these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
Delicious and very filling. I used black beans because that is what we prefer here. Very good vegetarian dinner. I was doubtful at first but gave it a try given all the raving reviews. I will redo this often. Thanks for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emilie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
I was hesitant to try it at first, but the good reviews finally won me over. Using dry black beans instead of the canned kidney beans was the only change I made. The burritos were good, but certainly not "can't wait to make `em again good"! In spite of the cayenne, chili powder and mustard, they were still a bit bland. I'd suggest to anyone getting ready to make the recipe to have your favorite salsa on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2015
Husband and I are doing the 10 day DANIEL diet and was led to this recipe as a suggestion for a meal using WHOLE GRAIN TORTILLAS and no cheese for the sake of the diet. First seeing the strange sweet potatoes with beans concoction made me nervous that this would be one of those 'just tolerate each bite' meals. Especially without cheese! But I was shocked that each bite was quite enjoyable so long as it contained equal amounts of both the sweet potatoes and bean mix. And then I wondered what some spring mix lettuce and tomato would do and threw some on my second burrito. OMG, it was FABULOUS! Wish I'd have thought of it from the start. They were so perfect as is that there was zero longing for cheese or even meat! Like I said, I'm shocked. These will be on our regular menu from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
This was good but nobody loved it. It's interesting enough that I want to make it again, because it's outside the usual routine. It's also nice and healthy! I used black beans instead of kidney beans and mashed them before adding them to the pan. This recipe doesn't have much of a sweet potato flavor, which was an advantage because most of us aren't big fans of sweet potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2015
Ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Epley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,714) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

These vegetarian burritos have a slightly spicy and utterly addictive flavor.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States