Addictive Sesame Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I have made this several times and am just getting to rating it. DELISH! Better then any chinese food take out.Didn't change a thing in the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elkford, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Flavor profile is there. Tastes excellent. I was looking for slightly crispier chicken but pleasantly surprised. I had my oil too hot so i flash fried the chicken and finished in the oven @375 for 15 minutes. Perfect! Next time i may try peanut oil instead of canola for frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenet_B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delavan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Overall I really liked it, as did my husband and 3 y/o son. I felt like the sauce was lacking some saltiness, so I added one additional tablespoon of soy sauce, and this really improved it. I was also hoping for crispier chicken, but I left it in the hot oil for a little bit longer and this helped. I also served the chicken dry and placed the sauce and sesame seeds on the table for people to serve themselves, and this helped keep the chicken crispy. I will definitely make this again, as it is very quick and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Exactly like the title claims, this is addicting!! Family loves it and requests I make it frequently. I have taken this dish to pot lucks and am always asked for the recipe. Thanks MISSFAVOR, this one is a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Douglas, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
This was spectacular. Didn't take a long time to make. Super great results. My boyfriend who only likes meat, cheese and potatoes loved it :) I would recommend dousing the chicken pieces with cornstarch before putting it in the mixture to refrigerate and fry a tad longer for extra crispiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COBHC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Daly City, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I'm a vegetarian so I only made the sauce from the second part of the recipe, and it was the best sesame sauce I've ever made -- better than my favorite restaurant's! I made a couple of changes: veggie broth for chicken; bumped the vinegar to 3/8 cup; brown sugar instead of white; red pepper flakes instead of chili paste; 3 cloves of garlic. Instead of boiling the sauce as the recipe suggests, I stir-fried the garlic in the sesame oil then added my fake meat and veggies, then added everything else. I stirred in cornstarch until I was happy with the consistency so I probably used less than called for in the recipe. But the sauce was nice and thick, and a wonderful combination of sweet and tangy. This is one is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This was tasty, but SO MUCH SUGAR. I actually halved the sugar because the amount of sugar this recipe calls for is tremendous. It was still yummy, but not quite like a chinese restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
INCREDIBLE! Followed the recipe exactly and the family can't get enough of it! Better than a restaurant. Will likely slice the chicken thinner next time to work on getting the chicken a bit crispier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This recipe was absolutely fantastic. I didn't change a thing, followed it exactly. I liked the fact that you could prepare everything (mix the sauce, etc.) and cook it later. This was NOT a difficult recipe and I will definitely make this again. Kid friendly too. My 7 year old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Just wonderful! I'm new to asian cooking but advanced with other types of food, and this was very easy and I didn't have to run out to the store for ingredients. I doubled the sauce to make sure I would have plenty and had twice as much as I needed - however, I am keeping the leftover sauce for another meal, it is just delicious. I thought the sauce that you marinade the chicken in was going to be too much but it turned out to be perfect after sitting in the fridge for half an hour. This is a dish I will make again and again - yay!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Chicken Stir-Fry

A quick stir-fry that’s slightly sweet, slightly spicy and very veggie friendly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States