Addictive Sesame Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
did not care for this at all! much too sweet, texture was mushy, however I did not deep fry the chx, pan fried instead. Would not make this again. sadly disappointed in this meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
This was good.. Would def. cut back on sesame oil.. would not cut back on the vinegar.. I did not have sherry, so I used shaoxing rice wine.. added broccoli.. probably won't make again.. missin something and have made "sesame chicken" many other ways that suit me better.. Thanks for letting me try your recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Our family loves Sesame Chicken, but we could not even eat this. My husband went to get take out instead. I will be looking for another recipe to try again as I would love to make this myself. I have made many asian dishes that we love but this was way too bland for us. Others have said something is missing and they are right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This is NOT Mr. Lee's Sesame Chicken (Littleton, NH), but seeing as there is no such dish made here in Bolivia, this really hit the spot. My wife kept raving about this dish. I did not have the dry sherry, but I used the chinese wine that is often used in their sauces (sorry, don't remember the name of it). Also, I thought that there was not enough batter, so after frying the chicken I made another batch of 'batter' adding smashed garlic this time and refried the meat. Delicious! As far as the sauce is concerned, I did it according to recipe to see how it would turn out. I felt that it lacked its 'redness', so I took Mr. Lee's advice and squirted in some ketchup and that did the trick. It has been at least 3 years since I had this dish, so this really hit the spot. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luke Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I had to change a few things in this recipe due to what I had on hand and it was still really good. I'm sure if I followed the recipe exactly it would be awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
DELICIOUS recipe. The only thing I did differently was frying the chicken in a large skillet, when the chicken was browned and ready I poured out the oil. Instead of pouring the sauce on the chicken on a platter, I poured the sauce in the skillet and let it simmer for 3-5 minutes. It gave the chicken more flavor and let the sauce soak into the meat more. Finally served over jasmine rice and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by e.noell2692

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This was pretty good. I followed the recipe except for adding chili paste. I agree with the reviewer who said something was missing. That special zing you get from real chinese was lacking, but I was glad I could make this dish and know everything that was going into what my family was eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sPi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Other then the fact the sauce was more like candy then sauce...this dish was fine. Husband really loved it. I thought it was missing something. Flavors were not as bold as I thought it would be. It also borders on way too much sugar. Oh! Don't forget the sesame seeds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I felt it was missing something although I didn't have sesame oil or seeds which may have been the problem. I did roll the chicken in flou before frying to make them a bit more crispy. Overall it turned out well. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summer Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Very good. Really just made the sauce. I think I'll leave out the water next time for a more intense flavor. I used 3/4 cup vinegar, red pepper flakes rather than chili paste, brown sugar rather than white sugar and soup base rather than chicken stock. (Snowed in and had to use what I had on hand!) Tossed the chicken pieces in seasoned corn starch and sauted in oil. Turned out really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Chicken Stir-Fry

A quick stir-fry that’s slightly sweet, slightly spicy and very veggie friendly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States