Addictive Pumpkin Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Wonderful! I didn't add the nuts or raisins, and used 5 c flour instead. Once cooled, I topped with a drizzle of powdered sugar glaze (powdered sugar, melted butter, vanilla and milk). Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
*********** is how many stars I would give this recipe if I could. I love these muffins! I've made several batches so far and they only get better every time. I always substitute applesauce for oil and have used combination of white flour with whole wheat flour, oats and flax seed. All are delicious! I've added raisins, dried cranberries, various types of nuts and even granola to my mixtures and can't wait to try chocolate chips. I usually use less sugar than called for and usually use at least half brown sugar. They are always plenty sweet and VERY moist. The title isn't misleading when they call these things Addictive :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clairvis

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Quite tasty. Thanks for all the previous advice regarding sugar, etc. (The reviews are one of the best parts of AR, I think!) I used cupcake pans (smaller than muffin pans) and the recipe made 18 cupcakes, 3 mini loaves, and 2 6-inch diameter cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
The name speaks for itself! My only problem was I used the paper liners and the bottom of the muffins stuck. Will not use the liners next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
This recipe was great! I made a few variations: I used 3 cups of Splenda instead of sugar and chopped fresh apples instead of using applesauce. They turned out nice and moist just bursting with flavor! Great recipe! I loved that there was no butter or oil in the recipe, it made it that much healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valencia, California, USA
Living In: Tujunga, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
My two year old and I love these! We left out the nuts and raisins and put chocolate chips in instead. We also used 1/2 cup brown sugar and 3/4 cup white sugar...next time we'll probably just use 1 cup brown sugar. All in all! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This is the recipe I loved but lost! So happy to find it again. I love the density as I like a hearty muffin for breakfast, not ones that are more like cake. I have enough recipes with wheat flour, which overwhelms the flavor to me so I stick with white for this one. I don't understand those who change the recipe, use different measurements and flavors, and then say the recipe didn't turn out good. I do change some things to go along with my tastes at times but not measurements or things that have to do with moistness. This recipe freezes very well. I make the whole batch, freeze it, then take out a few every couple of days. Delicious and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
This is a great recipe. The only things that I changed was instead of all purpose flour I used whole wheat flour and I halved the white sugar. They raised nicely and were very moist. I also left out the nuts and next time will add chocolate chips. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brublondie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
These came out great! I followed some of the tips previous commenters provided. I split the flour between whole wheat and all-purpose and I used a cup of brown sugar instead of all white. Interestingly, I had a hardened block of brown sugar that didn't completely soften. I thought this would be a problem, since I was left with small rock-like chunks in the batter. However, after baking, they melted and turned into crystallized sugar bits that added some nice texture and sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I lost a similar recipe and this one worked just as well. The cans of pumpkins available here seem to be slightly smaller (796 mL) so I cut the recipe back slightly using less flour and definitely less sugar. In fact, next time I'll use even less sugar, it really didn't need it. I like to add extra spice and pretty much doubles the spice quantities. I made mine with cranberries instead of raisins and also added orange rind, as recommended by the Joy of Cooking. Delicious. I also add a squirt of lemon juice to better activate the baking soda. As a true lover of all things pumpkin, I give this a big thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandi_in_Toronto

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 310) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Addictive Pumpkin Muffins

These delicious muffins are a low-fat version of a pumpkin bread recipe.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States