Addictive Pumpkin Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
My family of 5 didn't care for this at all. Felt too heavy, like a bran muffin. Husband said it didn't taste like pumpkin pie at all. Kids only are one and then were done. They eat two or three muffins when they love them! Unfortunately, we won't be trying this one again. I halved the recipe for my little family's breakfast and made no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I made a few revisions (4 stars) as well to make them a little healthier--I didn't have applesauce so replaced it with plain greek yogurt. Half the flour was replaced with ground oatmeal, and sugar was cut in half. They were great and plenty sweet! Next time I would not use paper liners and just spray muffin tins instead because they are very moist. Will make again. Great for breakfast on the go and freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
These are great - I cut the recipe in half and it made 18 large muffins. For the half recipe, I used 1 cup sugar and a total of 1&1/2 cup applesauce. Being from Georgia, I substituted pecans for the walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
YUM! I've been making this for a couple years now. Only thing to add: Too spicy for some tastes. Think about omitting some of the spice. What I do: take one of the spices down by 1/2 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxann VR

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I am just not fast enough to put this together in 15 min. But it's great t have a recipe that makes a large quantity. I love that. The bones of the recipe are invaluable. I did eliminate 1cup sugar. The muffins were not as light as they would have been otherwise, but they were still plenty sweet. I don't really like cloves so I changed the spices to 1T cinnamon,1/2 t ginger, and 1/4 t nutmeg. These are just the right size. I scooped the dough from the bowl into my muffin tins with an ice cream scoop and came up with exactly 3 dozen. And one just fills me up. So much to love about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Really nice recipe. I just made these for my son. I halved the recipe and made 6 large and 12 small muffins. I cooked them for about 25 min. Left out the raisins, used half brown sugar and half white sugar, and used allspice rather than cloves. I think this recipe is very forgiving as I did not measure carefully - came out perfectly! My son wants me to make them with chocolate chips next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
There isn't nearly enough cinnamon in them and they need some pumpkin pie spice to give them flavor.I halved the recipe and made them with 1/2 cup dark brown sugar instead of 2 cups of white (for 18 muffins). I don't like things particularly sweet and two cups of sugar is way too sweet to be called a muffin. I usually only put 1/4 cup sugar in a dozen muffins and they are just right. Even though I reduced the sugar and used a very moist dark brown sugar, the batter was very dry. I had to add another 1/4 cup of applesauce or so. The other thing I had to adjust was the cooking time. I made a dozen standard muffins and the rest were mini muffins. The mini muffins were done in 15 and the standard in about 18.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I made these yesterday with 1/2 whole wheat pastry flour and 1/2 white and used just a little oil because I didn't have applesauce. They are so delicious!! I made 12 and froze 1/2 of them. Next time I might add a few mini chips too. Will definitely make again! (one note - I used the servings option on the recipe and changed to 12. I was surprised when it filled the muffin tins up to the top but it worked)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
The muffins were a little spongy, but overall pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Really yummy. Used gluten free flower mix, organic coconut oil, no applesauce so used a mashed banana, added 3/4 cup chopped walnuts. They are too sweet for me so next time I will use less sugar and will try other sweetner ideas. This will be my pumkin muffin recipe now. Love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 316) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Addictive Pumpkin Muffins

These delicious muffins are a low-fat version of a pumpkin bread recipe.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States