Addictive Pumpkin Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Surprisingly delicious reduced-fat muffins, moist and light! I decreased the sugar by a quarter; 12 muffins called for 1 1/3 cups, I used 1 cup. I also skipped the raisins and nuts, and used 3/4 cup dark chocolate chips instead. I will now have to restrain myself from eating the entire batch. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Very dense. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
This is DELICIOUS! The consistency is a little different, they aren't quite as fluffy as most muffins, but they are SO GOOD! The changes I made were using 2 cups whole wheat flour, 1 3/4 cup white flour, and 1 cup oats (instead of 4 3/4 cups flour), 3 cups sugar instead of 4 (which was plenty...I'll probably do even less next time, especially if I add chocolate chips again), 1 tsp. cloves instead of 1 1/2, no raisins and walnuts, but added chocolate chips. YUMMY! I used regular sized muffin pans and cooked for 24 minutes, and mini muffins cooked for 18 minutes. Made 24 regular sized PLUS 24 mini. This recipe makes a TON! Just barely fit in my KitchenAid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I agree, definitely addicting! I made a very small batch, I scaled it to 6 but got 7. Instead of all the spices I just used pumpkin pie seasoning and it worked great. I didn't have apple sauce so I used oil. They were a teeny bit dry but I don't know if it was because I overbaked them or need more liquid. Next time I am going to use apple sauce, skip the raisins and add a crumb top. Definitely great though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4thegospel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
My family of 5 didn't care for this at all. Felt too heavy, like a bran muffin. Husband said it didn't taste like pumpkin pie at all. Kids only are one and then were done. They eat two or three muffins when they love them! Unfortunately, we won't be trying this one again. I halved the recipe for my little family's breakfast and made no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I made a few revisions (4 stars) as well to make them a little healthier--I didn't have applesauce so replaced it with plain greek yogurt. Half the flour was replaced with ground oatmeal, and sugar was cut in half. They were great and plenty sweet! Next time I would not use paper liners and just spray muffin tins instead because they are very moist. Will make again. Great for breakfast on the go and freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
These are great - I cut the recipe in half and it made 18 large muffins. For the half recipe, I used 1 cup sugar and a total of 1&1/2 cup applesauce. Being from Georgia, I substituted pecans for the walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
YUM! I've been making this for a couple years now. Only thing to add: Too spicy for some tastes. Think about omitting some of the spice. What I do: take one of the spices down by 1/2 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxann VR

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I am just not fast enough to put this together in 15 min. But it's great t have a recipe that makes a large quantity. I love that. The bones of the recipe are invaluable. I did eliminate 1cup sugar. The muffins were not as light as they would have been otherwise, but they were still plenty sweet. I don't really like cloves so I changed the spices to 1T cinnamon,1/2 t ginger, and 1/4 t nutmeg. These are just the right size. I scooped the dough from the bowl into my muffin tins with an ice cream scoop and came up with exactly 3 dozen. And one just fills me up. So much to love about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Really nice recipe. I just made these for my son. I halved the recipe and made 6 large and 12 small muffins. I cooked them for about 25 min. Left out the raisins, used half brown sugar and half white sugar, and used allspice rather than cloves. I think this recipe is very forgiving as I did not measure carefully - came out perfectly! My son wants me to make them with chocolate chips next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 320) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Addictive Pumpkin Muffins

These delicious muffins are a low-fat version of a pumpkin bread recipe.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States