Addictive Chocolate Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Skip the spoon to dip truffles. Use a plastic fork and break out the middle to tongs. Works much better! The coating can drip off better and the truffle slides off the two prongs easily!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Ulm, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KitchenWitch
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Very very good. The only reason I gave these a 4 instead of a 5 is because they melt as soon as you pick them up, so you have to keep them constantly refrigerated and eat them quickly! Rich and wonderful. They are beautiful if you can get the coating on smoothly. I suggest wearing latex gloves so you don't get fingerprints on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
These are delicious. Instead of using a spoon, I put toothpicks in them and it works a lot better for dipping and eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Magnolia, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Wow - taking the butter out is definitely the key to melting this chocolate. Once we did that, these were fabulous. Wish I'd read the reviews before diving in. We will make this again - they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIESHAUL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rushville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
i had problems with scooping out the chocolate mixture as well. it was pretty liquidy so i let it sit for about 1 hour and was able to roll the chocolates into balls, then i placed them onto the wax paper and in the fridge for about 10 minutes. this made them a lot easier to dip and not have to worry about them melting in the milk chocolate mixture. the tongs trick was definitely easier than using the spoon. an alteration i made on an earlier mistake was adding disaronno into melted semi-sweet chocolate in a makeshift double boiler (small pot below and metal mixing bowl on top) as soon as i put the disaronno into the melted chcolate it harden to more of a fudgey texture, i rolled those into balls and dipped them in the extra milk chocolate as well. these were a hit at my potluck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Pretty good. But the mixture stuck to my melon baller so I ended up using my fingers. I made half of them with semisweet and half of them with ghiradelli white chocolate.I rolled some in walnuts mixed with brown sugar,some in crushed heath toffee bits, and the rest in hershey's cocoa mixed with sugar to make up for the unsweetened cocoa. great for v-day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cupcake Princess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
These truffles are awsome!! I followed the recipe completely and they are wonderful. My husband loves them, he says they are "Choclickity". I will for sure make these again, and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Very simple and easy. They look beautiful an taste wonderful! I used milk instead of the cream an they came out fine. Great recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lacyd123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I followed the recipie but I could not spoon the chocolate onto the pan. It was way to liquidy. I placed the pot into the freeser to cool it right down. after and hour i took it out and spooned in onto cookie sheet and back into the freezer. the muixure spread right out into disks. They taste good but are a huge mess. I was unable to even dip them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara McKinlay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halfmoon Bay, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
These are absolutely DELICIOUS! I made these for my boyfriend for our two-year anniversary/Valentines day, and he LOVED them (as well as my mom and her friends). I used Ghirardelli chocolate and also, after they had been dipped in the semisweet chocolate, I sprinkled a little bit of sea salt on them, as I think it tastes amazing that way. Great recipe! I'm already planning on making it again sometime this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States