Addicting Chip Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
This is fantastic. First time I folled the recipe exactly and loved it. The second time I made it I used Fat Free Greek Yogurt minus the mild and I still love it. It is on my list to make again and again when I need a dip for chips or veggies. Very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Can't wait to try this with the addition of the anchovy. My first memory of this chip dip is at least 42 years ago. My Grandma from Milwaukee had this at every holiday at her house. She is the one who taught me that "double dipping" was not acceptable. She caught me when I was 7 or 8 years old and the dip was thrown out.........never double dipped again (at least not when grandma was looking!!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waldo, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Soooooo good.......I did have to up the anchovy paste a lot ( used almost a tube but I doubled t he recipe) but it was awesome. Everyone loved it and one dad at the party took a whole cup of it home. I will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nfreeman

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This dip is outstanding!My sister made this just to have something to try and to snack on and my 11 year old son (which a picky eater)really enjoyed this dip with crackers.He kept on saying how good it is. We will definitely be making this dip again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I made this and took the advice of other reviewers and added the green onion and fresh minced garlic. After letting the flavors meld for 2 hrs, it was great!! Served it with crackers. For those that find this bland, put spices in that you would like, I happen to love cream cheese so this was perfect for me, if you arent a fan, try less or add more garlic etc but be sure to let the flavors "marry" for a bit in the fridge. Will be making this again over and over. Thank you for sharing the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Loved it! My 7 yr old daughter just asked me to make it again, and she knows what's in it :) It really is addicting - the flavors go really well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I made this as written but in the end did add extra anchovy paste as others mentioned. I used green onions for my onions to give it some color. I served it with potato chips which made it a bit too salty for me and I think it would be better dipped with veggies but my husband loved it just as it was. To me it tasted like a really creamy French Onion Dip. My husband already asked if I wanted him to pick up some more cream cheese so it looks like I will be making this one often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This is amazing. I found this recipe a few years ago and have made it more times then I can count! Unfortunately I developed an allergy to onion a year ago and can't eat this anymore. I've been meaning to try it with garlic or asafetida.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boombatine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Everyone has their own personal likes and dislikes so I can't say that this recipe is disgusting or not addicting for someone who likes cream cheese. To each their own, I say. I have been making an anchovy dip for 30 years that I use for steak, preferably steak fondue. It includes all of the ingredients mentioned but only 1-8 oz pkg cream cheese, up to 2 tablespoons anchovy paste (your preference), 1 tablespoon chives, 1 tablespoon minced onion (I prefer green onion with their tops), 1 clove minced garlic, a teaspoon lemon juice and a teaspoon of Worcestershire. There's no particular order, just mix it up and let it chill to combine their wonderful flavors. This is a fun recipe in that you can add olives, pimento, chopped artichokes, etc. I'm getting ready to make bacon wrapped stuffed jalapeno poppers with it. I'll bet it will be great but steak, in my opinion, is the best use of this dip by far. Oh, and also don't be afraid to use the paste, that is what makes the flavor so perfect and I would never eat anchovies any other way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I don't know what everyone has been doing! This dip is crazy addicting. I've made it 10+ times now for family get togethers, and every time I see people scraping the bowl! I have one secret, I use fresh garlic straight from my food processor and leave the dip in the fridge overnight. This dip has been delicious with chips, pretzels, grain crackers, rice crackers, veggies, and I always make extra for when I make my turkey party wraps. If you want to be daring, add cheese as a topping. I've had success with fresh parmesan! If you didn't like it the first time, give it another go with fresh garlic and make sure it is mixed very well. The recipe says to whip the final ingredients with a fork, but I always use my electric hand mixer. When you get it right, it will have your friends and relatives gathered around the food table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JVarriano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fruit Dip

Dunk fresh fruit into a sweet and creamy pineapple-flavored dip.

Fiesta Dip

See how to make a spicy no-bake dip with a delicious secret ingredient.

Saint Paddy's Dill Dip

A colorful, creamy dip that’s perfect for celebrating St. Patrick's Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States