Adam's Dirt Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by mels_a_baker
Reviewed: May 10, 2008
These cookies are incredible. I couldn't keep my hands off of them. I brought these to work and they were gone in 5 minutes. I did decrease the butter to 3/4 cup after reading some reviews of "greasy" cookies, and had no problems. Awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mels_a_baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clementon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
These are okay.... Not really my cup of tea as they are way too sweet. I would much prefer to eat the Oreos rather than smash them into the dough. I made suggested changes (using self raising flour, no salt, no baking soda and less butter). Would definitely have been way too greasy with more butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pinkpigeon
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
[[UPDATE 05/08 - Ever since I baked these a few months ago I've had repeat requests for more. I think I might add more oreo bits next time]] These are very good! I did not need to change them at all. A friend of mine is an oreo-lover -- I made these for her and she couldn't stop raving. Very easy, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkpigeon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Campania, Italy
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
YUM! These are ingenious! I have made them for friends and for a work event- they are a HUGE hit! I like to mix the cookie dough and throw the cookies in at the end and use the mixer to crush them a bit...I find that spreads out the cookies better and crushes them better. I have made them 3 times and am making them again this weekend- people keep asking me for those "dirt cookies"! I also add a cup of chocolate chips- it gives them an added PUNCH! Thanks for this YUMMY recipe! What a great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pookie4

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marinette, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
very good! I used less oreos than suggested, they were a favorite at my house. they do look like dirt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
These were ok. But there is something about them that I'm not sure that I like. I'm thinking the butter. The taste almost greasy. They are good enough to eat and finish, but I don't think I'll make them again. And it's nothing personal Adam. They aren't horrible, it's just not the cookie for me :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Yum Yum Yum!!!! These cookies are fantastic!!!! My husband kept eating these from the cooling racks. I used a little extra oreos (about 2 cups total)I LOVE oreos and this recipe just makes them even better. I just piled them into a 4 cup measuring cup and used a fork to break them into big chunks. For the people who's cookies are coming out to salty a rule of thumb for baking is to bake with UNSALTED butter. If you use salted butter just omit the added salt in the recipe. I always cook with salted butter and omit the salt because I only carry sea salt in the house which does not work well for baked goods. Also is your cookies turn out to flat make sure your A. not melting your butter whe you add it to the mix or B. try using half butter/half margarine mixture. This always makes my cookies perfect. I always use half and half which I started doing when my cookies kept getting flat. I have never had a problem since.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Photo by cookiequeen
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
Great cookies with a nice twist. I did use 1 full cup of the brown sugar and I cut my cookies into chunks and added them in that way(more like 2 cups). I also made another batch adding in some mini choco chips and they were great as well. Def a keeper recipe that I will experiment with other cookies(like nutterbutter's YUM!) Thanks for the share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
These cookies were really good. I try new cookie recipes every month to send to my son who is in Afganistan. These cookies shipped well and stayed fresh. He really enjoyed them. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beverly
Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
I give this recipe 5 stars because the dough is divine; the cookies are good, but not extraordinary. I used half the salt and double the vanilla (because I love vanilla), and I also used small crumbs and large chunks of Oreos. My cookies did not have a "crackled" appearance like nascargirl's photo. Thanks for the recipe, Adam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States