Adam's Dirt Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I just finished making these ingenious cookies for a church potluck today and really want to share my thoughts and experience which I don't normally do. First I would like to say I made them solely to use up an 8 oz. bag of mini Oreo cookies coming close to expiration. However, after making & tasting these gems I will buy Oreo cookies specifically for making these in the future. I did make some slight changes but nothing I think would alter the recipe to a brand new one. As I said, I used an 8 oz. bag of mini Oreos. Thinking because they were mini's I followed another review advice and added at end without crushing to let the electric mixer do. Big mistake. I liked the dough color when I first added but by the time they were in acceptable chunks I didn't like the color. Lesson learned. Will crush into chunks first then fold in at the end. I used 1/2 butter-1/2 margarine as I felt the Oreo filling had enough shortening already. In some reviews chocolate chips were added. I choose not to and will not in the future. I like the "Dirt Cookie" version of the "Dirt Ice Cream Cups" minus the gummy worms. Adam you did good here. I can't wait to make these for my grandsons especially the youngest one named Adam. He is going to love them and will be tickled when I tell him their name. As far as the texture, taste, etc. of the cookies....they lived up to and even more than the description. The recipe was spot on for the yield. Thanks for sharing with all of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red Hat Milli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
Excellent cookie. Received rave reviews. Only change I made was I upped the (double stuff) Oreos to 2 1/2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
These were good but I wish there was more oreo flavor. It tasted like a chocolate chip cookie, without the chocolate bursts of flavor. Watch them carefully - they stink when they are burnt (as all cookies do I'm sure).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Instead of sandwich cookie crumbs, I used egg nog cookies that someone gave me which I wasnt't too fond of. Also added some chocolate chips. Worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CallMeBetty
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
These cookies are phenomenal! What a great variation on a normal sugar cookie. The only changes I made were 1 stick of butter and 1/2 cup butter flavored shortening and I added a 1/2 tsp of baking powder - cookies did not flatten out too much like some reviewers stated. My fiance ate almost the whole batch in one sitting; looks like I need to go get more oreos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CallMeBetty
Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I baked this last evening for a benefit bake sale and waited until this morning to write a review so I could sample a completely cooled cookie, first (what cookie doesn't taste awesome fresh out of the oven?!). These have a nice crisp edge and chewy middle. They also have a great buttery, slightly different w/the crushed Oreos, taste. However, I'm just not sure I'll "waste" perfectly delicious on their own, Double Stuffed Oreos to make these again. Perhaps if they were a touch stale and you didn't want to just pitch them? They're definately worth trying (and a single batch only uses 1/2 of a traditional sized package of Oreos), though. THANKS for the recipe, Adam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I made these cookie's for the grandkids they loved them and the shocker here is my daughter and her boyfriend loved them to they ate them all in one day i followed the recipe to the letter thankyou
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
These cookies are SO good! My husband ate 5 before asking me to hide them! Follow the recipe exactly and enjoy, these will be great Christmas gifts this year. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Batesville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
These are without a doubt the most delicious cookie I have ever made. I had no problems with them being too flat. They were the absolute perfect texture, incredibly soft, and the flavor... Wow. Just..thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
This is a fabulous cookie. It's like a sugar cookie/Oreo combination. It cuts the Oreo flavor just enough. I used half butter, half margarine and they spread just enough and stayed soft. This is a definite will make again! They do look like dirt cookies, but that adds to the fun of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Milton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States