Adam's Dirt Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2003
These cookies are very good! I am an avid baker, but I am also an oreo lover. So a from-scratch cookie recipe that uses oreos is right up my alley. I put the cookies in a bag and broke them with my hands. I left the pieces pretty large -- I broke each cookie into about 4 or 5 pieces. I like oreos to be really big and recognizable when I use them in recipes (like homemade ice cream brownies and cakes). I made the cookies pretty large. Ended up with about 28 or 30. When you make them large, flatten out the dough a bit rather than making them into round balls. You don't want them to be too flat, just not round. The refrigeration step is important since the dough it kind of sticky. The cookie dough isn't the same as a chocolate chip cookie dough. it is a cross between a sugar cookie and a chocolate chip cookie. My cookies didn't come out hard at all. they were fairly soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
This turned out to be one of those happy surprise kind of recipes. You expected it would be good or you wouldn't have made it, but it turns out even better than you expected! I made the recipe as written, no changes. However, as I do with all cookie doughs made with butter, I let the dough chill for an hour or so until somewhat firm. I used a medium sized cookie scoop (about 1/4 c.), flattened them slightly, and baked on UNgreased cookie sheets for 12 minutes. Buttery, Oreo-y delicious. Crispy on the edges, soft and chewy in the middle. When I make these again I will fold even more Oreos in at the last, left in chunkier pieces. I can't wait to share these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
These actually tasted pretty good... For those of you who are hesitant to make these because of appearance, I would suggest dipping them in chocolate. It not only makes them look nicer, it adds an extra kick of flavor to a sugar-cookie-like recipe. Depending on how much chocolate coating you want, mix a tablespoon of shortening with every 9 ounces of semisweet chocolate you use, melt in a double boiler, dip cookies, and place on a cooling rack over aluminum foil to catch drips. Let the chocolate harden completely!! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allison125

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
These were okay, but I agree with those that said they were too buttery. I used 3/4 cup of butter, and the cookies came out really salty and a little too greasy for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CUCKOOBIRD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
I love to bake cookies and was interested in the cookies but I am an Oreo freak. I have made the cookies twice & was disappointed both times. The cookies were soft & chewy, but spread way too much during baking (you really don't need to grease the baking sheets because the cookie contains so much butter). Thinking the dough hadn't been refrigerated long enough, I refrigerated the 2nd batch for 4 hours & still had the same problem. The cookies taste OK (sugar cookies) & I do like the "dirty" appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
Okay, I read all the reviews, and I made some alterations to the recipe. The cookies turned out great. I used 1/2 cup butter plus 2 TBS, and I used the peanut butter filled Oreos. These were good, but I could just add oreo crumbs to my standard chocolate chip recipe and still have wonderful results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKOONUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2002
Our baking group made these cookies last week and we fell in love with them. They were easy to make and fun to see when they were done. We used them to give to the staff and they just swooned over them. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2002
These cookies were easy enough to make. They tasted okay, but my husband wouldn't touch them because of how they looked. I guess looks do count!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SALLY42

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Louisville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2002
OPPPS, i made a mistake when I made these cookies. I used chocolate graham cracker crumbs. They worked like a charm. Great recipe. Maybe the next time I will get it right!! Thanks Adam
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ESHIPLER
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
A good cookie that tasted a lot like....an Oreo! Ha! Lately I've been looking for cookies that are a little different and this one fit the bill. The Oreos give the cookie that rich, chocolate flavor, and the rest of the cookie dough compliments the richness with soft, chewy goodness. If you're looking for something that's not your run-of-the-mill chocolate chip or pb cookie, try this one out. It has good flavor, is soft, and just a bit chewy. Exactly what I like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States