Adam's Dirt Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
In the light of so many positive 5 star reviews I had to try this cookie recipe. We love orero cookies! We love homemade cookies! How could we go wrong by combining the two? I have to say, it tasted like a snickerdoodle with oreo crumb coating. Huge disappointment for all of the tasters in my home. a waste of a package of oreos and butter... and I've had much better tasting snickerdoodles than this. We made these yesterday and our household has 9 members. The plate still sits full of these cookies. Sorry-we did not like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky Gunkel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Very Good Cookies. I used 2 1/4 cups of broken oreos and pretzels. The pretzels added a nice salty taste to them. I would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by yadikeith
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
THESE ARE AMAZING! My children are in love with these cookies as am I! if you love oreos and cookies why not mix them together! They taste just like cookies and cream. YUM! I did not make any changes to this recipe. Great Job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yadikeith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erin Kate
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
The flavor was pretty good, especially if you like a buttery cookie and I really like the texture with the chunks of Oreo, but overall this cookie was a little underwhelming. Mine flattened out a lot, so maybe I should try again with half butter/half Crisco like the previous reviewer recommended. I also agree with the reviewer who said these were a bit salty and would cut back on the salt. I'll probably give these one more go and see if I can improve on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manitowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I love these cookies and have been making them for a while now. I made these recently and ran low on butter (I always use real butter - margarine seems to alter texture), so I used 1/2 butter with 1/2 Crisco butter flavored sticks and they turned out great- seemed to be a little more cake-like - less greasy. I love them either way -always get a good response from a crowd - thanks for interesting recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneeS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ESHIPLER
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
A good cookie that tasted a lot like....an Oreo! Ha! Lately I've been looking for cookies that are a little different and this one fit the bill. The Oreos give the cookie that rich, chocolate flavor, and the rest of the cookie dough compliments the richness with soft, chewy goodness. If you're looking for something that's not your run-of-the-mill chocolate chip or pb cookie, try this one out. It has good flavor, is soft, and just a bit chewy. Exactly what I like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
This recipe was meant to be today. After making the peanut butter fudge pie, I had about 3/4 cup of leftover oreo crumbs, just enough to make 1/2 batch of these cookies. I had just asked my kids what they thought of making chocolate chip cookies and cream cookies with the crumbs, when I went to this site and saw a review of these. My 2 girls actually made these, and they were very easy and very tasty. We threw in a handful of mini chocolate chips and kept everything else the same for a half batch. I am going to use this recipe again and purposely leave my oreos a little chunkier to get more texture in the cookies. Thanks for such a fun and delicious idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Beamgal
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
This was a quick and easy cookie recipe. I added chocolate chips to make it extra rich, and I was pleased with the end result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beamgal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washougal, Washington, USA
Living In: Camas, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
They were pretty good, but there's a lot of better tasting cookies. I personally prefer chocolate chip cookies! I lowered the butter content to 3/4 cup, and 1/2 cup white sugar than 1 full cup. I made a mistake in making less cookies, so they got burned on the bottom, but for the last few cookies i made em small so they didn't burn and they flattened out nicely. I guess my second batch will be better :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
these are pretty good, I used more cookies then called for. My kids left open a bag of our organic chocolate sandwich cookies and this was a good way to use them. All in all i used aroung 2 1/4 cups of crushed, chunked cookies. The cookies were salty tasting so next time i will leave out the salt, otherwise these are good to go. The flavoe was there for sure, im sure it was all the cookies i used!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by my3littlangls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Victorville, California, USA
Living In: Fort Lee, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States