Adam's Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Absolutely delicious, addictive, and easy to make! Batter is thick but bakes up light with great texture. My fiancee actually found this recipe and started it- i hesitated because of the lack of reviews. I am SO glad he convinced me to make this. We have made it 3 times in 3 days adding brown sugar, raisins, and walnuts. You will not be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
This cake was delicious! I made it for my office & everyone enjoyed it. I would like to send a small donation to Adam for his recipe, so he can send it to his charity. Thank you again Adam for sharing your great grandmother’s recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Adam, you are my new hero! What a fine young man you are. I am honored to bake your wonderful apple cake--it is VERY moist, and delicious. Cut it whil warm, and serve it with a scoop of good vanilla ice cream on top. You'll think you've gone to heaven! Best apple cake resipe I have ever tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA
Living In: Fairborn, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
All I can say is wow. It had a great taste and was very simple to make. The only precaution I would add is to make sure you have a strong mixer for this recipe. The batter is pretty thick and mine was having a bit of trouble blending the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
I just prepared this exactly as directed and it is AMAZING!!!!I dusted it with powdered sugar a few minutes out of the oven and it is great! You have to make it,you wil be glad you did. Thanks for sharing the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Linn, Oregon, USA
Living In: Gladstone, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Very delicious! I just made the cake and couldn't wait to try it. My husband loved it also. My cake came out moist but dense. I actually beat the oil, sugar and eggs together first, then added all the other ingredients. I am going to try this recipe again as suggested and just mix everything all at once. I wonder if that will make the difference. Anyways, Adam, this is a wonderful cake and I will continue to make it on a regualr basis. Thanks again for a delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
For the apples, I used 2 granny smith and 2 macintosh, coarsely chopped. The batter was thick and sticky. At times, I wished I had a electric mixer. I baked some in a big muffin pan and the rest in a souffle dish. Baked time was 45-50 minutes. Both turned out well. The only difference was that muffins had chunks of apples on the top. Thanks for sharing, Adam. I'm going to use this recipe to make it a Thank-You gift for baby shower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Amazing!!! I did make a few changes to make it more moist though. I added 4 TBL of sour cream and used 5 apples. **** It only needed 50 minutes of cooking time for me***
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Such an amazing cake! If I didn't bake it myself I would of thought it was professionally made in a bakery somewhere. I had to make a little alteration to the recipe stated above. My "batter" was just all powder after I finished mixing it. I added 3/4 - 1 Cup of applesauce and about 1/4 cup of milk to make my batter a cake batter. The moisture and sweetness was just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Just baked this cake late yesterday. Followed the recipe except, while I was peeling and coring the apples, I poured some pasteurized orange juice (not from concentrate if that matters) over the cut apples (2 large Gala and 3 small Rome) to keep them from browning (about 3/4 to a cup) while I finished preparing the rest of the apples. Once finished with the apples, started mixing the dry and wet ingredients. The batter came out very crumbly, so I poured some of the juice from the prepared apples into the batter to make it come together (MUCH better). Folded in the rest of the juicy apples and poured into glass baking dish (9x13) sprayed with baker's joy. Used a silicon spatula to push any protruding apples down into the batter and put in the oven for one hour. I AM NOT a baker normally, but this cake is AWESOME!!! The hardest part is preparing the apples but it's DEFINITELY worth the effort. I'll be making this again and again! Thanks to the poster and all the previous reviewers. This cake tastes like the Jewish apple cake my late mother used to make...thanks for the fond memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States