Across the Border Tequila Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Carson
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Found it a bit weak in flavour so added some dried red pepper chilies and then removed shrimp as soon as they were cooked and kept them warm while I reduced the liquid and used it over the top. Set shrimp on top of lime cilantro rice that had been put in a mold ring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whistler, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
i am not the best at cooking & its super easy to make and the important thing is that my husband loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
This is an absolute winner. One of my guests joked that he wanted to lick the bowl! Instead of reducing the sauce (and letting the shrimp get cold) I quickly whisked some Wondra flour into the drippings. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Oh, YUM! Super easy recipe, and very flavorful! I doubled the ingredients so there'd be extra sauce. The cilantro really added a nice flavor. It was delicious - even my picky husband raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandma Wen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keno, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
The butter overwhelmed everything. Not much other flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Super easy to make and came out tasty. I used scallops and shrimp and added a bit more tequila (I didn't want the sauce to evaporate) and served it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cokesbury, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
This was very good. I did have to add a little bit of cornstarch because my sauce did not thicken. Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy's Baking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
This is a great summer recipe- very light. I tossed cilantro in the sauce at the end ( I love cilantro! ) and let it blend in, and served it over rice. I also double the sauce to have lots for the rice to soak up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAROLYNBOERSMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Olive, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
I would give this 6 stars if I could. My sauce and shrimp was a bit more "orange-ish" in color - the chili powder. I never knew so few ingredients wound taste to unbelievable. I skipped the cilantro. Served with rice and fresh tomatos and avocado. So far, this was best result I've had from any recipe I've ever tried from this website, and I've had some good results. Restaurant quality for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Server33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
pretty good. The type of tequila that's used probably determines the taste. Do not waste your time or $ on the cilantro because you don't actually eat it. I thought it went into the dish and it was just a garnish, I don't need garnish at my house because the meal speaks for itself. The lime could have been eliminated as well. My boyfriend rated it at a 4, then i told him to have some lime with it, he did then he then rated it a 3. I did however make the cilantro lime rice to serve the shrimp on, from this website. I made the 2nd recipe that comes up in the search results--bad idea if you do not like cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Shrimp Burritos

Baja-style shrimp burritos with an amazing chipotle sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States