Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
it is a simple and delicious recipe - i just add chopped walnuts for extra crunch and taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Just like I remember as a child. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
This squash was great, and I'm not a big squash fan. I agree with several reviews about the handling. Nuke it for 2-3 minutes to make it easier to cut. I also did not cover the bottom half with the top half as suggested, otherwise only one side would have all the flavor. But do keep in mind that if you cut it around the center (versus top to bottom) the top half of the squash is thicker and takes longer to cook. The first time I made it, the bottom half was perfect but the top half was underdone. Second time I made it, I put the top half in 12 minutes earlier than the bottom and it all came out perfectly. I also scored mine (cross hatches with a knife in the flesh) to let the flavors sink in, before adding the butter and sugar...and a pinch of salt, which does add a great flavor. Made this for my Dad and he scraped every last bite down to the skin. Microwaved leftovers 2 days later and still fantastic. Will make again! By the way, look for the recipe for toasting winter squash seeds on this site too. At least as good as pumpkin seeds and such a shame to throw them out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ93

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
I tried this today. YUMMO! I took the advice of one of the other reviewers and microwaved it for 2 minutes just to make it easier to cut. I too salted the inside with kosher salt a bit and then baked it. The rest done just like the recipe. This is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Very tasty. Thanks to others for the tips on microwaving first and then finishing in the oven. Also, cinnamon is a nice added touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Great recipe after I stopped the bleeding...Suggestions for splitting the squash without loping off your hand please. I tried it both ways, one half the microwave method recommended by some, the other have the long way. I prefer the long method because the brown sugar and butter mixture "carmelized" in the squash and soaked in more. The microwaved one was tender and juicy but lacked the carmelized mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
This is the only way to make acorn squash!! Sooo yummy!! I always pierce a few holes with a fork to allow the butter and sugar to seep into the squash. Love it:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Yummy! Although don't tell me the calories on this. I'd imagine the receipe could be lightened and still be tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
I cooked them in the microwave first (cut in half, cut side down in about 1/2 water) and then broiled them with the sugar and butter inside. Turned out wonderfully (and a ton faster than original recipe). Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 469) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States