Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This makes a delicious, smooth puree, that my baby loves. I added a dash of cinnamon too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Awesome, awesome, awesome! If you let it sit for about 5 mins after taking out of oven, the butter/sugar combination thickens. MMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
DONE THIS FOR YEARS. SAVE CALORIES WITH SPLENDA BROWN SUGAR. ALSO ADD DASH OF CINNAMON
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I just baked in a baking pan with some water for 45 mins. and they cooked just fine. I thought there was too much butter and sugar. Next time I will try only 1/4 T. butter and 1/2 T. of brown sugar per each acorn half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
My mom made acorn squash just like this when I was a kid. It's the only kind of squash I'll eat, and the only way I'll eat it. The only difference I think is she cooked it upside down till soft, turned them over & put the butter/brown sugar in each half and put them back in the oven just to melt the butter/sugar mixture. Great, simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
butter is not needed to get the desidered result here, it's just wasted calorie and fat...while I agee it can be microwaved, I prefer mine in the oven, i place the squash in pan with water 1/2 way up the side of the squash and the cavity face up filled with brown sugar and cinnamon....although maple syrup is a good alternative as well...just fill it and forget it and let the amazing aroma take over the house, my son who is picky when it comes to vegetables will actually ask for this one, he loves it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
My husbands favorite way to eat squash - simple and only a few ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This is the basic recipe I use every Fall, but I add pumpkin pie seasoning and cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bergj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
My TWIST on this recipe... I cook in the micro and place the 2 halves side-by-side in a Pyrex dish with a 1/4 inch of water, but I fill the cavities with brown sugar and then slowly fill with Soy sauce. The sweet of the sugar and sour of the Soy makes a great sauce when you mix the squash into the liquid. Micro them for about 10 mins on High. Check for doneness and micro again if necessary. Man Cooker of the house, Norm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N K Thoms

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Great recipe. I cooked these cut side up and used honey instead of butter. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 486) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States