Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
This is the only way I've ever had squash but you can do it a quicker way. Cut it in half and seed it. Microwave on high for 5 minutes. Put about a tablespoon of butter in each have and spread it around on the top edges and inside. Litely sprinkle nutmeg all over and then about twice as much cinnamon. Follow it up with brown sugar (1-2T each half depending on how sweet you like it) and bake at 350 for about 20 minutes. Feel free to turn the oven off and keep the squash in there until the rest of your meal is done. You just can't miss with squash this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3045 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burnt Hills, New York, USA
Living In: Ballston Lake, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
This is a great recipe. I love the butter and brown suagr flavor, but I cook mine differently. I use the same amount and same ingredients, but I cut the acorn squash in half, place flesh side up and place into a casserole dish or a roasting pan with a little water. I put the butter and brown sugar in the middle before I cook it. Then I cook in a 350 degree oven for 45-60 mins. Comes out perfect every time. If the squah is a little unstable, I cut the bottom just a little to make it stand up better. I'll do about 2 squash at a time (4 servings).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1748 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2001
You can make this same recipe in the microwave. Just place squash halves cut side down in a microwave tray with 1/2 cup water per two halves. Cook 10-15 min until tender. Then turn over and fill with butter and sugar. Cook until butter melts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
930 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veggie the Vegan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
Very good, but excellent after adding an equal amount of salt to the sugar. (If you like Kettle Corn, you'll love this. It's not too sweet this way.) Also, since I HATE having to cut these darn things in half, I just bake them whole for about an hour at 375. Then they can be cut in half with a butter knife! I then broil for 5 minutes to melt the butter/sugar/salt mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
399 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I have always loved acorn squash and have always prepared it the same way, year after year, baked, with butter, salt and pepper, garlic powder and a little paprika for color. Never bothered to do it any other way, mostly because I'm just not a fan of mixing sweet with savory. This year however, I thought I'd like to try something different, and was willing to try the sugar on squash concept. So, other than putting a little water in the pan during the first half hour, I made this exactly as written and... I'm a convert! Loved it, as did everyone else at the Thanksgiving table. The combination of brown sugar and butter baked to create almost a caramely glaze which was just pleasantly sweet. Simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
280 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
Much faster if done in the microwave. depending upon size of sqaush should only take about 8 to 12 minutes. Place face up add your butter, brown sugar, and cinnamon cover with paper towel, micro on high. even better when you add cinnamon to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
275 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Basically a good recipe with an insufficient method. To get the flavor into the squash, you have to cut through the flesh with a knife in a criss-cross pattern to allow entry to the butter and sugar. Also, DO NOT replace the top half onto the bottom half for baking. That's crazy! That top half will get no flavor! Bake all halves flesh facing up with their own portion of butter and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
207 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2001
FANTASTIC! what a beautiful roasted flavor the acorn squash has with this simple and delectable brown sugar glaze. I stuffed the acorn squash with some cous-cous and served it with chicken - a perfect meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2001
worth trying if you like squash...I added a little cinnamon and after flipping the squash over I didnt put one half over the other. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
This was fantastic! My husband who is not crazy about squash and my 2 year old who is not crazy about anything nutritious both loved it. It really couldn't be easier. This is going to be a regular on our menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 463) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States