Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Agree with other reviewers ..been making this for years. Add a little water to bottom of pan to keep moist and stop skin from burning...score the squash and add the butter, brown sugar right from the start..keep both sides face up in the pan....cook 45-60 min. I also add nutmeg ..you could add cinnamon if you prefer that taste instead ..and I love the idea of adding walnuts ...mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Nice simple way to prepare acorn squash. I used golden acorn squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Great side dish -- so easy and perfect for fall/winter. I followed reviewer recommendations: Used parchment paper, split butter/brown sugar into each half, put them both fleshy side up in a 9 x 13 pan, sprinkled with cinnamon/nutmeg before serving. Made this a few times - never any trouble with the squash staying put.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Winnetka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I've been trying new vegetables lately and was hoping to like this more. I think I just don't care for acorn squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA
Living In: North Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Good recipe. For the final stage I turned the squash right side up and let them bake for 20 more minutes instead of 30, and spread buttery brown sugar on the rims and inside. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elmo Dukat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Delicious and super easy to make. I added a 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon to the brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KevinBerry7406
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Not bad! This is my first time trying acorn squash and while it's not my favorite squash, it's still pretty good. The cinnamon that a few people suggested was a nice touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KevinBerry7406

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Acorn squash is one of our family favorites! I add 1/4 of an apple that is chopped into bite size pieces. Put it in the middle of the halved squash, mix with cinnamon, butter and brown sugar. I cover the halves with plastic wrap or paper towels and microwave for about 10 mins. The apple makes it moist and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I really enjoyed this recipe, however I don't think I was able to get all of the squash out of the shell, plus I felt it needed more than just sugar, ended up adding nutmeg and cinnamon before serving. My girls weren't big fans, but maybe that's just because this was their first time having acorn squash. I would definitely liven it up next time, add a few more spices, and maybe try microwaving instead of oven baking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Hirsch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 468) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States