Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Great recipe. I cooked these cut side up and used honey instead of butter. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I have made acorn squash like this for years however I also add some fresh grated nutmeg, cinnamon, a splash of sweet sherry ,salt and pepper and butter. I pierce the flesh with a fork to let the melted butter, sherry and other ingredients soak into the flesh. I bake the two open halves side up so the flesh browns just a tad. When it is cooked I fork mash it all together to blend the flavors. Over the top good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Try substituting the brown sugar with maple syrup for a change. I usually put in a dab of butter and add about a tablespoon of real maple syrup or more. I also use a brush to cover the cut edges. So good but not overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristineB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Magalia, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This is the way I always cook my acorn squash. It's easy and yummy! Two tips...1. Use pourable brown sugar (easier to sprinkle evenly) and 2. cut a small piece off the bottom of each half to keep them from tipping over or sliding around in the pan. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
It always comes out perfect. To quick start, put squash with just butter in the microwave for 5 to 10 min on high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUNASCOMET

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Made this for the first time and we loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
This was really good, but I felt like butter was the most prominent flavor. The butter soaked right into the squash (which was delicious) but it needed something else. Next time I'll add some cinnamon and nutmeg to give it more flavor. Overall great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Easy and yummy! Thank you!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
This was good. It was my first time trying acorn squash. I really liked the recipe, however I do not like the texture of the squash. So overall nothing wrong with this recipe, just my dislike of the vegetable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Om Shanti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Such an easy recipe and the results are yummy! I only needed to bake the squash for 30 minutes to start and then turned both halves flesh-side up for the second half of baking which took only 20 minutes. My 15 month old daughter absolutely loved it! Thank you for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 467) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States