Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diamond

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This is a great way to do squash. I have been doing this for years but with a twist. We have squash when I make pork chops. This meal is so easy. Cut squash in half and seed. fill with the brown sugar and butter or use honey if you like. Then take your pork chop and salt n pepper to taste and lay on foil (big enough piece to wrap pork chop and squash. Next put squash on top of pork chop and wrap in you foil. Put in oven and bake for 45 min. to hour depending on chop and size of squash. (350 oven) The chop comes out so moist and the squash is wonderful. Plus this is easy to clean up. I use thick cut Iowa pork chops for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Treadingwell
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
This is yummy. I have never had acorn squash before and this was excellent. The only thing I did different was after I turned over the halves I put 1tbsp of butter & 2 tbsp of brown sugar in each half and didn't put them over each other then baked it for 20 mins. It still turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Not bad. Taste like yam..Easy to make. But I think I rather sweet potatoes over these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I agree with those of you who said to cook the squash with water in the pan, the first time. Since it was my first time eating it this way, I'll add, that you MUST eat it with a spoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLAVaholic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I had some acorn squarsh a few months ago,i was looking for a recipe and found this one i didnt pit it in the oven first,i put the brown sugar and cinnamon on and baked them till they were done,my daughter doesnt like squash,but she loved this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Payette, Idaho, USA
Living In: Caldwell, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Cooking time was accurate since the squash came out moist and tasted good. I actually used maple syrup and apples to stuff inside the squash instead of brown sugar and butter. Next time I will try what the recipe recommends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Agree with other reviewers ..been making this for years. Add a little water to bottom of pan to keep moist and stop skin from burning...score the squash and add the butter, brown sugar right from the start..keep both sides face up in the pan....cook 45-60 min. I also add nutmeg ..you could add cinnamon if you prefer that taste instead ..and I love the idea of adding walnuts ...mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Nice simple way to prepare acorn squash. I used golden acorn squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Great side dish -- so easy and perfect for fall/winter. I followed reviewer recommendations: Used parchment paper, split butter/brown sugar into each half, put them both fleshy side up in a 9 x 13 pan, sprinkled with cinnamon/nutmeg before serving. Made this a few times - never any trouble with the squash staying put.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Winnetka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 465) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States