Acorn Squash with Sweet Spicy Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Made this tonight using 2 large acorn squash, no olive oil (forgot) and 1 pound of mild Italian sausage. I pre-cooked the squash and sausage as per the recipe before picking my husband up from work. I left the squash in the oven (turned off) and the sausage in on the stove (also turned off) and then came home, heated the meat a bit, drained the water off the squash and continued on with the recipe. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
This dish was amazing! I made sure not to tell my boyfriend what i was making because I knew he wouldnt go for it, a couple bites in and he was ready to know when i would make it again :) We love garlic and onions, so i cooked up some onion with the turkey then added in minced garlic. I also used someone elses idea to add bread crumbs in with the meat. Will definitely make this dish again!!! The sweet and spicy combination is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Love this! I use hot pork sausage like other reviewers I microwaved the squash for 8-10 min to get them soft then bake for about 15 min, then I throw it under the broiler for a minute or 2 to get the brown sugar caramelized.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Floerke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deana
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This was a delicious recipe. I used hot italian sausage (not turkey). It was awesome! I also served with sour cream on the side for anyone who wanted it. That was delicious as well. Very easy and tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I think this is great. I served this with a side of pasta. Are people giving it low stars because it's so easy? I used "Tillamook burn like a ragin' fire sausage" and it was HOT! I love hot but I will try different meat fillings in the future....it will be fun :) Great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Really delicious. I substituted sugar free maple syrup for brown sugar (better for diabetics), sage pork sausage and about 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes. Of course with pork sausage being used there was no need for the olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by louisem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Very easy to do and delcious. This is becoming a staple in our winter recipe collection. So easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by val

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
I have made this three times since I first discovered recipe in march. Fabulous. 6 thumbs up frome each member of my family. I can't use spicy sausage (yet) because our youngest won't eat spicy foods. So I doctor up seasoned turkey with some cumin and mild chili spices. I made this tonite in honor of our first "fall" dinner....! Very happy family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I love this! I made it with spicy chicken sausage and it was YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AliceF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This was not good. I will not try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States