Acorn Squash with Sweet Spicy Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
this was really good. I halved the recipe and used sweet Italian turkey sausage, wish I had the hot sausage instead! will make again. it was really easy and simple to make. I thought about adding some other ingredients but couldn't think of anything to add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Tasted excellent. It would be a perfect fall meal. It was not filling enough on its own, though. I should have fixed rice or something to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deana
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This was a delicious recipe. I used hot italian sausage (not turkey). It was awesome! I also served with sour cream on the side for anyone who wanted it. That was delicious as well. Very easy and tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I think this is great. I served this with a side of pasta. Are people giving it low stars because it's so easy? I used "Tillamook burn like a ragin' fire sausage" and it was HOT! I love hot but I will try different meat fillings in the future....it will be fun :) Great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
very good, very easy. I used turkey sausage and added a bit of red pepper to make it a little more spicy. I halved the squash and put it in the microwave in a glass dish w/a bit of water. Probably a total of 10 minutes is fine. Cooked the sausage and pre-heated the ove to 400 in the meantime. Added a tiny bit of butter (don't think I will next time) and brown sugar to the bottom, stuffed w/sausage, then brown sugar and bread crumbs on top. Cooked in oven for about 10 min then a quick broil. Very good and very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
very yummy! husband loved it and it was very easy to make. I served it with a jumalia rice meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Foreman House

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I used hot & mild sausage. As I did that I cooked the squash for about an hour because I had a large squash. It was a tad overdone but it was delicious!! I also used parsley. Pretty easy and you can add other ingredients to the dish to spice it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
I made this tonight, with the usual personal amendments (I happened to find pork sausage before turkey, and cooked it up in a rather haphazard fashion, then ran short of brown sugar). I'm fairly certain that my shortcomings did not harm this recipe much. It was AMAZING. Just the thing for a cold and windy night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Love this! I use hot pork sausage like other reviewers I microwaved the squash for 8-10 min to get them soft then bake for about 15 min, then I throw it under the broiler for a minute or 2 to get the brown sugar caramelized.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Floerke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I just happened to have a few acorn squash and spiced sausage I needed to use. It tasted "okay" but I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heiditx1979

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Hawaiian Sweet & Sour Smoked Sausage

Enjoy the sweet-and-savory taste of the islands in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States