Acorn Squash with Sweet Spicy Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
this was really good. I halved the recipe and used sweet Italian turkey sausage, wish I had the hot sausage instead! will make again. it was really easy and simple to make. I thought about adding some other ingredients but couldn't think of anything to add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Tasted excellent. It would be a perfect fall meal. It was not filling enough on its own, though. I should have fixed rice or something to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deana
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This was a delicious recipe. I used hot italian sausage (not turkey). It was awesome! I also served with sour cream on the side for anyone who wanted it. That was delicious as well. Very easy and tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I think this is great. I served this with a side of pasta. Are people giving it low stars because it's so easy? I used "Tillamook burn like a ragin' fire sausage" and it was HOT! I love hot but I will try different meat fillings in the future....it will be fun :) Great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
very good, very easy. I used turkey sausage and added a bit of red pepper to make it a little more spicy. I halved the squash and put it in the microwave in a glass dish w/a bit of water. Probably a total of 10 minutes is fine. Cooked the sausage and pre-heated the ove to 400 in the meantime. Added a tiny bit of butter (don't think I will next time) and brown sugar to the bottom, stuffed w/sausage, then brown sugar and bread crumbs on top. Cooked in oven for about 10 min then a quick broil. Very good and very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
very yummy! husband loved it and it was very easy to make. I served it with a jumalia rice meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Foreman House

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I used hot & mild sausage. As I did that I cooked the squash for about an hour because I had a large squash. It was a tad overdone but it was delicious!! I also used parsley. Pretty easy and you can add other ingredients to the dish to spice it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
I made this tonight, with the usual personal amendments (I happened to find pork sausage before turkey, and cooked it up in a rather haphazard fashion, then ran short of brown sugar). I'm fairly certain that my shortcomings did not harm this recipe much. It was AMAZING. Just the thing for a cold and windy night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Love this! I use hot pork sausage like other reviewers I microwaved the squash for 8-10 min to get them soft then bake for about 15 min, then I throw it under the broiler for a minute or 2 to get the brown sugar caramelized.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Floerke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I just happened to have a few acorn squash and spiced sausage I needed to use. It tasted "okay" but I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heiditx1979

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States