Acorn Squash with Apple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This dish is very good. And cooking the acorn squash to peel the skin is great! The only change I will make in the future is to use a sweeter apple. Other than that, I enjoyed this very much as did my husband who is not a big fan of squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
It's like eating Apple Pie without the crust! Absolutely fabulous and easy! We've found that with our microwave that we've had to adjust the cooking time some. We microwave the squash covered for 7.5 minutes on high and then add the apples and cover and cook another 7.5 minutes on high. We cut the apples into wedges that are about 3/8 inches thick. If you cut them too thin you'll end up with applesauce. Our young son was allergic to soy and dairy for a time, so we substituted canola oil and it turns out just as well as when we've followed the recipe with butter. We've also used butternut squash and it's just as awesome. Goes great with a roasted chicken or turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I made this for Thanksgiving dinner since my sister-in-law had asked me to bring some type of acorn squash dish. It was great, everyone complimented me on it. The apples added a nice touch. To cook the squash I cut it in half, baked them in the oven with some brown sugar and butter, and when it had soften and cooled, I was able to scoop the squash right out of the skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Great, easy recipe (my favorite kind). The tip about peeling the squash was very helpful. I added some dried cranberries for a little extra flavor and color. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALISON967

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I roasted the squash and it came out a little dry... everything else was great though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Halved the acorn squash, scooped out the seeds and left halves as is. Mixed together apple mixture using one large, softball sized apple and a dash of lemon juice and the rest of the ingredients from the original recipe. Divided this mixture between the two acorn squash halves, popped them in the oven at 375. Covered with foil about 30 minutes in when the apples started browning. The squash took about 90 minutes to become soft but it was a fairly large one. Delicious! Would probably go heavier on the butter and add nutmeg next time but that's just my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
alter cooking method
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Falls, New Jersey, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Made this pretty much exactly as the recipe stated, except that I added dried cranberries from someone's suggestion. I can't stress enough how GOOD this came out. Savory, sweet, salty...YUM. Definitely recommend this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
This recipe sounded like a great idea since I had some acorn squash and apples lying around. Unfortunately, it didn't work to my liking. I followed the recipe exactly even down to the peeling of the squash. My husband and daughter wouldn't eat it after the first taste. Make with caution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scaskey117

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
This is a very good way to introduce winter squash to the family. I did as Aileen did and just put the ingredients into the halved squash except I baked the halved & seeded squash in the oven cut sides down for 30 min at 350 degrees first. Then I flipped them over & filled them with the apples & seasonings (I used more cinnamon), covered them with foil & put back in the oven for 30 more min. When they were done, I scooped it all into a serving bowl & lightly mashed it all together. Excellent side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Petre Osborn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States