Acorn Squash with Apple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I am a vegetarian that does not like squash. I have tried more recipes than I can count trying to find one that I can eat. Well, I found yours, had several jars of apples that I had canned and wooo Hoooo!!! I now love acorn squash. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IteachK1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I liked this a lot! The texture and flavor is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
So festive and delicious. I halved the squash and mixed the rest of the ingredients together then filled the squash with the apple mixture. I baked this @ 400* for about an hour. Beautiful presentation and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natali

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Loved the idea of this dish but instead of useing squash i used pumpkin then through in some cranberry's and for the spice i used nutmeg. turned out to be a major hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I loved this recipe. It was simple to prepare and bake. Halved the squash and cleaned out the center. Mixed together in a bowl the sugar, cinnamon, salt and walnuts, then tossed in the apples. Split the apple mixture between the two halves. Topped each half with a tablespoon of butter. Placed in a glass baking dish and put in the oven (preheated to 350 degrees F) for 25 minutes uncovered to roast, then covered for and additional 20 minutes. My house smelled wonderful, and the squash tasted sublime. Next time, I think I'll add another teaspoon of brown sugar, 1/4 teaspoon each of nutmeg and ginger, an extra pinch of cinnamon, and 2-3 tablespoons of applesauce to keep the apples moist while baking. Also, I'm single and had a half left over. Still tasted just as wonderful when reheated two days later! I will definitely adding this recipe to my autumn recipe standards!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dravosburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I was looking for something similar to my mom's recipe, but this didn't live up to my memory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~CrissyN~
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
yummy! i also added cranberries and some cloves. what a great side dish for a fall meal! without the microwave, it takes about 10-15 minutes to get just right in a cast-iron skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren & Joel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I made this for Thanksgiving and my kids loved it!! I baked mine in the oven after cutting it in half and scooping out the seeds and sprinkled a bit of brown sugar on it. I added one apple and one pear and I puree my squash and then put it back in the oven for 15 mins. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Used honey crisp apples. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States