Acorn Squash with Apple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I roasted the squash and it came out a little dry... everything else was great though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Halved the acorn squash, scooped out the seeds and left halves as is. Mixed together apple mixture using one large, softball sized apple and a dash of lemon juice and the rest of the ingredients from the original recipe. Divided this mixture between the two acorn squash halves, popped them in the oven at 375. Covered with foil about 30 minutes in when the apples started browning. The squash took about 90 minutes to become soft but it was a fairly large one. Delicious! Would probably go heavier on the butter and add nutmeg next time but that's just my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
alter cooking method
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Falls, New Jersey, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Made this pretty much exactly as the recipe stated, except that I added dried cranberries from someone's suggestion. I can't stress enough how GOOD this came out. Savory, sweet, salty...YUM. Definitely recommend this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
This recipe sounded like a great idea since I had some acorn squash and apples lying around. Unfortunately, it didn't work to my liking. I followed the recipe exactly even down to the peeling of the squash. My husband and daughter wouldn't eat it after the first taste. Make with caution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scaskey117

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
This is a very good way to introduce winter squash to the family. I did as Aileen did and just put the ingredients into the halved squash except I baked the halved & seeded squash in the oven cut sides down for 30 min at 350 degrees first. Then I flipped them over & filled them with the apples & seasonings (I used more cinnamon), covered them with foil & put back in the oven for 30 more min. When they were done, I scooped it all into a serving bowl & lightly mashed it all together. Excellent side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Petre Osborn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Big hit with the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
My boyfriend and I were splint on this one. I thouht the flavor and the apples were great, but couldn't get too excited about the acorn squash. I'd never had acorn squash before so I guess it's just not my thing. I did add an extra tablespoon of brown sugar. My boyfriend also suggested that I chop the squash and apples into smaller pieces so that you get more of a melding of flavor in each bite. He loved it, so I'll be making again I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by serenity8675

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Meadville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
This recipe got everyone in my house excited about acorn squash! It was delicious. Thanks! The peeling instructions were super helpful, btw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyrone, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Very good fall side dish. Will definitely make again, even though my picky son only ate two bites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States