Acorn Squash with Apple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Big hit with the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
My boyfriend and I were splint on this one. I thouht the flavor and the apples were great, but couldn't get too excited about the acorn squash. I'd never had acorn squash before so I guess it's just not my thing. I did add an extra tablespoon of brown sugar. My boyfriend also suggested that I chop the squash and apples into smaller pieces so that you get more of a melding of flavor in each bite. He loved it, so I'll be making again I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by serenity8675

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Meadville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
This recipe got everyone in my house excited about acorn squash! It was delicious. Thanks! The peeling instructions were super helpful, btw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyrone, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Very good fall side dish. Will definitely make again, even though my picky son only ate two bites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I thought this was great! My only complaint that it took awhile to peel. I added some dried cranberries - very delicious. They plumped up nicely from the moisture of the squash. Next time I will add more nuts - I don't think a tablespoon was enough. The sweetness was perfect; contrary to other reviews, the sweetness was perfect - adding more sugar would make it too dessert-like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I made this with a huge squash from the garden and 3 apples. No one was impressed. For all the work of peeling it I think I'll stick with baking the halves. I will say the peeling method worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FISHGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encampment, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Is it just me, or does anyone else find this too salty? It barely tasted sweet to me. Not bad, but not what I expected. Next time I'll definitely leave out the 1/2 tsp of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
My entire family & guests loved this recipe! I followed the oven variation since I prefer not to cook in the microwave. Turned out wonderfully! The directions to peel an acorn squash works very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovinlife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
A great combo and a wonderful dish to our turkey. I will definitely make this again. And again. And again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Piques

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
First time trying acorn squash. Made this as a side dish for Thanksgiving dinner. Used three apples instead of two and increased cinnamon as we like cinnamon. While it is pretty good, I think it is best in small doses as it is kinda sweet. I just don't think I like a dessert-type vegetable along side my roast beef, mashed potatoes and gravy, and peas and carrots. Even though it wasn't bad, I highly doubt that I will make it again. Family didn't mind it either but felt the same as I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States