Acorn Squash with Apple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
Very good! I followed the recipe for the ingredients but just filled halved acorn squash with the ingredients and roasted in the oven at 375 (covered for half of the time) until the squash was tender. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
I have used a similar recipe for a long time that uses more butter. I put a little nutmeg and cardamon in mine as well. I am giving this 5 stars because it is a delicious way to make squash, and also for the tip on how to peel those buggers-they're not easy!! Thanks for the tip!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grosse Pointe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
This is a fabulous recipe. I find myself making it weekly. Thank you so much for posting it. I omit the walnuts and add 2/3 cup of dried cranberries and 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mamaroneck, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
This was very sweet and delicious. Thanks for the tip on peeling the squash - it worked great. Make sure you use a sweet apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
YAAA!!! I got my kids to eat Squash!! They thought it tasted like a dessert. Very Good. Thank you soooo much on the tip to peeling the squash. The peel almost fell off the squash. Will make again, great for a fall side dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
Fantastic! Thanks for the great idea on peeling the squash. This came out terrific, I drizzled about a tablespoon of Vermont maple syrup over the mixture to add some extra flavor. It came out great- Only complaint...it just wasn't enough- I will double the recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lobstergov

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wellesley, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: North Conway, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
This is an excellent addition to any fall meal. It was simple and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
This was a very good recipe especially if you are looking for something different to do with acorn squash. I used black walnuts for a more nutty flavor and natural sugar. I also fixed them in a skillet on the stove top since I very seldom use the microwave, because of losing the nutritional value of foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bryson City, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
This was very good! I usually shy away from the winter squash because it takes so long to prepare. This was quick and easy and tasted delicious. Even my 5 year old vegetable-hater ate and enjoyed it! Yay! Next time I think I'll try adding the nutmeg and cardamon like an earlier reviewer mentioned just for the variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
So, yummy! This is like apple pie without the crust! And, so easy to make too! Thanks for the tip on peeling the squash, it worked so well. Highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri Leigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States