Acorn Squash with Apple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
I omitted the brown sugar because I'm on a silly diet, and even so, this was sweet and delicious! Oh, I also used pecans instead of walnuts because they were all I had on hand. Thanks for a simple, delicious and pretty healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CalgaryJosie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I absolutely loved this recipe! I have tried acorn squash many times and could not choke it down! This is great! My kids loved it! I wouldn't change a thing! It's the perfect way to get your yellow vegetable on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarbS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Pleasant, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
My DH and I thought it was awesome. My 2 and 4 year didn't fall for the squash. They picked it out and ate everything else. Previous reviewers that related this recipe to apple pie, were right on. It did remind me of apple pie! I cut the butter down a little and it was still GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I served this to a group of picky eaters at Thanksgiving, and they all loved it. In fact, some of them thought it was almost dessert-like. What a great side dish. I will make making this again at Christmas for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MellowDee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Felt like tic-tac-toe in my mouth, the mild acorn squash and the tangy apples were in constant alternation. my easy suggestion: melt the butter & honey (instead of sugar), stir into prepped veggies along with dry ingredients. cover & microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple City, California, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I tried this method to get the peel off the squash and it didn't work very well for me. I also prefer my squash cooked so that it's mushy and smooth and this still had more squash texture left. However, the flavors did very well together. I think I'm going to take the base ingredients and try adding a few eggs, puree in my food processor, and bake for a bit until set. I think that way you'd get the nice combination of flavors in a texture that I prefer. Or, I'll bake the squash until I can scoop the flesh out easily, puree it, and then add in the cooked apples in small chunks. My husband and my 4 year old boy liked this recipe, but the 2 year old discovered the difference between the apple bits and the squash and only ate the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This dish is very good. And cooking the acorn squash to peel the skin is great! The only change I will make in the future is to use a sweeter apple. Other than that, I enjoyed this very much as did my husband who is not a big fan of squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
It's like eating Apple Pie without the crust! Absolutely fabulous and easy! We've found that with our microwave that we've had to adjust the cooking time some. We microwave the squash covered for 7.5 minutes on high and then add the apples and cover and cook another 7.5 minutes on high. We cut the apples into wedges that are about 3/8 inches thick. If you cut them too thin you'll end up with applesauce. Our young son was allergic to soy and dairy for a time, so we substituted canola oil and it turns out just as well as when we've followed the recipe with butter. We've also used butternut squash and it's just as awesome. Goes great with a roasted chicken or turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I made this for Thanksgiving dinner since my sister-in-law had asked me to bring some type of acorn squash dish. It was great, everyone complimented me on it. The apples added a nice touch. To cook the squash I cut it in half, baked them in the oven with some brown sugar and butter, and when it had soften and cooled, I was able to scoop the squash right out of the skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Great, easy recipe (my favorite kind). The tip about peeling the squash was very helpful. I added some dried cranberries for a little extra flavor and color. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALISON967

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States