Acorn Squash with Apple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I love acorn squash, but my 2 young kids aren't a fan unless mixed with apple. I usually puree the two, but this is a nice change (be careful not to overcook the squash). Added extra apple for the kids, but will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bristol, Virginia, USA
Living In: Southlake, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Love this recipe because it gives directions on how to chop acorn squash easily. It is hard to get acorn chunks for roasting, etc. Most of the time, you cook it and have to puree or mush it up. This process works great! Since we got a bumper crop of acorn squash from our CSA this year, I am looking for ways to eat this wonderful veg. Roasting will be yummy. Thanks for the critical tip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by ildefonso
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I love winter squash and this is a great way to blend fall flavors! I used all the ingredients but just like another reviewer I left the squash whole and stuffed it. I roasted it and it came out tender and full of taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ildefonso

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
First of all, THANK YOU for the peeling the acorn squash tip!!! That was awesome! I loved this recipe. It just tasted like fall. Nice nutty squash with sweet apples and a titch of cinnamon. Deliciousl! I made a double batch but in 2 separate bowls - one with nuts and one without for non-nutty daughter. Both were equally good. Keep an eye on your squash. Depending on how fast your squash cooks on the stove, 15 minutes in the microwave may be too much or not enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
This was good. I have never had acorn squash before, but I liked it cooked this way. I did bake in the oven according to the alternative directions. It smelled the house up like apple pie. I used a white acorn squash because I wasn't sure which one to buy. They are small so the apple chunks far outnumbered the squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
A very tasty way to serve squash. Even my friend who usually detests squash thought this smelled so good that he tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
So good! tastes like a dessert
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Great recipe, I made it tonight and it was quick, and easy. This is the first time I cooked acorn squash. I bought it earlier this week and just couldn't pick a recipe. Since the great tip on peeling, I used yours and am so glad I did. Next time I will add nutmeg and vanilla. Thanks so much for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bettyann
Living In: Sharon Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Delicious & Nutritious! I microwave the whole squash for about 5 minutes so I can cut it in half and just add the ingredients, makes a pretty presentation. I chop the apples, use craisins, a tsp of cinnamon and a little nutmeg. pecans are also great in this if you don't have walnuts. love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joanbone

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I really enjoyed this recipe, and I'm not huge squash fan. Borrowing from other reviews, I modified the cooking method slightly: I mixed all the spices together; added a diced apple and mixed to cover; added a tbsp of melted butter and tossed the mixture so that everything was "wet." Stuffed back into the halved acorn squash, and baked in a 400-degree oven uncovered for 30 and then covered for 30. Probably could have gone in for less, but I was happy with how it turned out. Served with a couscous salad with curry, turmeric, apple and golden raisins (not on this site) - perfect fall meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vienna, Virginia, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States