Acorn Squash with Apple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
This was my first time eating acorn squash, and I LOVED it. You could throw an oat topping on this and call it apple crisp and fool anybody - it was sweet (and I even reduced the sugar) and delicious and so easy to make. I didn't have walnuts so I just used some almonds and while they were good, I'm not huge into nuts; I think I might just make it without any nuts at all in the future. But I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
This was really easy and totally delicious! We had it as dessert with dinner and for breakfast the next morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by b.stebick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
This is very good and works with a lot of different winter squash. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Quinn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emporia, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Sweet and savory autumn dish. Absolutely loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
This was amazing! I sliced the squash in half, hollowed it out and filled the empty cavity with the remaining ingredients. I used real dark maple syrup in place of brown sugar. I covered with tinfoil and placed on a baking sheet and baked at 350 for about 40 minutes until it was tender then I removed the tinfoil and baked for another 20 minutes. It was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Welland, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Used Pecans instead of walnuts. Next time I would add more nuts. Perfect otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Super yummy - almost like dessert on your dinner plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Made this for Thanksgiving and I was really disappointed. It tasted bland and boring so I kept adding more brown sugar and butter until it was practically floating in it. Then I tried to heat it in a saucepan to thicken it into a glaze, but that didn't really work out. I guess I was expecting the sugar to form a glaze and infuse the butternut squash with sweetness and taste less squashy but it didn't. I wish I had tried this before debuting at Thanksgiving dinner but it sounded like it would be such a sure thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Really tasty and a great way to get squash into your diet without a lot of butter and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Thanks for the tip on peeling the squash! Worked like a charm, except for the tail of the squash which refused to stay underwater. As for the recipe, it was ok, sweet more like a dessert than a side. And it actually tasted much better the next day, after the flavors had melded more. Right out of the microwave it tasted strongly like squash, with little apple flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States