Acorn Squash with Apple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
My husband thought it was too sweet with the brown sugar, but I liked the squash/apple combination. So I've whittled it down to just chopping and sprinkling lightly with salt and cinnamon, then cooking as directed. So easy. The flavors blend, the apple mellows the squash flavor. This is my favorite way to eat squash. Works well with sweet potato too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Easy and my kids loved it! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Easy to make. Squash & Apples are very plentiful and affordable this time of year. I also spiced it up a bit with some nutmeg, ground cloves and allspice. My wife couldn't believe something that delicious was so quick and easy, right from the microwave. This will be a fall favorite for years to come. Leftovers great with ice cream too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MAKGAMBIT
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Family ate it, but doubt it will be made again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAKGAMBIT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I used a 1/4 c of cashews and lots of extra cinnamon. I also cooked it in the oven instead of the microwave. Thanks for the recipe. It's very cheap and easy to make with things you have on hand at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
This recipe could actually be a dessert! It was a really nice treat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I cut the squash in half, left the peelings on: used red delicious apples (left their peelings on,for the color is so vibrant), and baked at 375 degrees like the other reviewer mentioned: covered for the first half and uncovered the second half. This is wonderful!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
This was a perfect accompaniment to Thanksgiving dinner. It was definitely a feast for the senses, as it made my home smell heavenly and the colours were perfect for a fall harvest theme. And it tasted delicious, of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Loved the flavor, and got a thumbs up from the hubby (who doesn't eat squash). However, I find it is easier to remove stems and seeds from the squash when it is cold. I then cooked it in the microwave face down in a little bit of water. Once softened and cool, I peeled the same way....much better presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States