Acorn Squash with Apple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Excellent dish, I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
It was a good, quick recipe. I didn't find it as tasty as the other reviewers, but it was very convenient, easy, and I will probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
One of my favorite combinations! A little nutmeg is good too. I generally peel squash with a potato peeler, it works just fine. For ridged squash like Acorn, I first slice them along the channels (you're going to cut it up anyway) and then it takes just a few seconds to peel the slice with the peeler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I am a vegetarian that does not like squash. I have tried more recipes than I can count trying to find one that I can eat. Well, I found yours, had several jars of apples that I had canned and wooo Hoooo!!! I now love acorn squash. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IteachK1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I liked this a lot! The texture and flavor is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
So festive and delicious. I halved the squash and mixed the rest of the ingredients together then filled the squash with the apple mixture. I baked this @ 400* for about an hour. Beautiful presentation and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natali

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Loved the idea of this dish but instead of useing squash i used pumpkin then through in some cranberry's and for the spice i used nutmeg. turned out to be a major hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I loved this recipe. It was simple to prepare and bake. Halved the squash and cleaned out the center. Mixed together in a bowl the sugar, cinnamon, salt and walnuts, then tossed in the apples. Split the apple mixture between the two halves. Topped each half with a tablespoon of butter. Placed in a glass baking dish and put in the oven (preheated to 350 degrees F) for 25 minutes uncovered to roast, then covered for and additional 20 minutes. My house smelled wonderful, and the squash tasted sublime. Next time, I think I'll add another teaspoon of brown sugar, 1/4 teaspoon each of nutmeg and ginger, an extra pinch of cinnamon, and 2-3 tablespoons of applesauce to keep the apples moist while baking. Also, I'm single and had a half left over. Still tasted just as wonderful when reheated two days later! I will definitely adding this recipe to my autumn recipe standards!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dravosburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I was looking for something similar to my mom's recipe, but this didn't live up to my memory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~CrissyN~

Displaying results 51-60 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States