Acorn Squash with Apple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
I usually only make acorn squash one way-- whipped with butter and brown sugar. I really liked the change of texture with this recipe and the addition of cinnamon and apple. I kept the nuts out becuase my husband doesn't like them. Loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
Maybe my expectations were too high from reading the other reviews, but this dish was nothing special. It was not sweet enough and did not have a lot of flavor - and I like squash. Maybe the squash I used was too big - I did add some extra butter and sugar, but it wasn't enough. I did throw in some dried cherries I had on hand to spice it up, and those were a nice touch. Also, I used the peeling suggestion, but the task of peeling a squash was still rather daunting. If I make this again, I will use this as a stuffing and bake the squash in the oven, b/c peeling it is too much work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABALONE25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kidron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
Very good! I followed the recipe for the ingredients but just filled halved acorn squash with the ingredients and roasted in the oven at 375 (covered for half of the time) until the squash was tender. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
This was a great squash recipe. My husband absolutely loved it. I almost felt guilty eating it during supper since it tasted like it could have been a dessert. Next time I may add raisins to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
I would have given this recipe five stars for the peeling tip alone. As one reviewer's son said "taste like the inside of an apple pie." I ate the left over's for breakfast. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chesapeake Baybe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shenandoah, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Beach, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
My son hates all vegetables - but he loved this! In fact, the entire family loved it. I didn't use the walnuts due to food allergies, but the rest was terrific. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
This is so good! It's extremely easy - what a great way to peel a squash. This recipe has just the right amount of sweetness and tastes like autumn. It also made the house smell amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
Great recipe! I substituted pecans for the walnuts, but kept everything else the same. Thanks for the tip on how to peel the squash! I've been eyeing them at the grocery store, but have never been quite sure as to how to cook them. This was a fantastic start for me! Husband liked it to and I will be serving it as part of our Thanksgiving feast this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
THANK YOU! As a child my mother made the most hideous, watery, insipid squash possible. I have avoided squash since (and my children have never tasted it because of my aversion). Until now! I cut the sugar and butter by half and I only had one apple (forgot to go to the store) and it was still super yummy. Everyone had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommycakes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
I've never cared for acorn squash - until now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShdwWlf1065

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States