Acorn Squash with Apple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
I would have given this recipe five stars for the peeling tip alone. As one reviewer's son said "taste like the inside of an apple pie." I ate the left over's for breakfast. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chesapeake Baybe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shenandoah, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Beach, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
My son hates all vegetables - but he loved this! In fact, the entire family loved it. I didn't use the walnuts due to food allergies, but the rest was terrific. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
This is so good! It's extremely easy - what a great way to peel a squash. This recipe has just the right amount of sweetness and tastes like autumn. It also made the house smell amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
Great recipe! I substituted pecans for the walnuts, but kept everything else the same. Thanks for the tip on how to peel the squash! I've been eyeing them at the grocery store, but have never been quite sure as to how to cook them. This was a fantastic start for me! Husband liked it to and I will be serving it as part of our Thanksgiving feast this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
THANK YOU! As a child my mother made the most hideous, watery, insipid squash possible. I have avoided squash since (and my children have never tasted it because of my aversion). Until now! I cut the sugar and butter by half and I only had one apple (forgot to go to the store) and it was still super yummy. Everyone had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommycakes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
I've never cared for acorn squash - until now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShdwWlf1065

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
Fantastic! Thanks for the great idea on peeling the squash. This came out terrific, I drizzled about a tablespoon of Vermont maple syrup over the mixture to add some extra flavor. It came out great- Only complaint...it just wasn't enough- I will double the recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lobstergov

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wellesley, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: North Conway, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
My family liked this dish. I have made a similiar one stuffing the squash with the apple mixture, but this way you get alot more squash. Thanks for the tip about peeling the squash too, it worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
very good. my son is a very picky eater and doesn't like his vegetables. i didn't tell him what was in it, and he loved it. he says it tastes like apple pie without the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
My entire family loved this side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States