Acorn Squash with Apple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
This is a fabulous recipe. I find myself making it weekly. Thank you so much for posting it. I omit the walnuts and add 2/3 cup of dried cranberries and 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mamaroneck, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
Delicious and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FieldGreens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newcastle, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
I was hesitant because I've never made squash before (and was scared of cutting off my hand due to the rind!). It was very nice! I didn't know what to expect, but the flavors were very mellow and I was able to enjoy the flavor of the squash, but still enjoy the cinnamon taste. I would add a little more brown sugar and more cinnamon next time. My 6 year old daughter had two helpings of it and enjoyed it immensely. I will make it again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
I added raisins as well and baked it in the oven. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
the recipe was great for beginners who've never made acorn, thanks for the great tip. The dish was really tasty!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
I liked this. The apples and sugar added a nice sweetness to the squash, without being too sweet. The tip for peeling the squash was helpful as well, even though I'm not daunted by the skin myself. I somewhat prefer the flavor you get from traditional roasting, but if you want a quick and easy way to prepare squash, this is the one to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAINTARTAUD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
My family did not like this one. They liked the apples, but ate around the squash. They did not like the texture or the flavor. Easy to fix though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
I love sweets so I can't believe I am going to say this, but this was too sweet. Maybe it was a kind of apples I used (Harleson). I don't know if I'll make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
I added chorizo and breadcrumb and more savory spices. Good, not great; it taster quite healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
YAAA!!! I got my kids to eat Squash!! They thought it tasted like a dessert. Very Good. Thank you soooo much on the tip to peeling the squash. The peel almost fell off the squash. Will make again, great for a fall side dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States