Acorn Squash with Apple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
My mother-in-law and I are the only squash eaters in my husband's side of the family, and I was asked to bring some to our Christmas dinner. I thought this looked interesting because I love sweet potatoes and apples, and I've always thought acorn squash has a similar taste to sweet potatoes. We really liked it. I did increase the cinnamon to a full teaspoon, and added 1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg and cardamom. Instead of dotting the squash and apples with butter, I melted the butter, and then mixed it in a separate bowl with the sugar, salt, and spices, and also added a tablespoon of lite pancake syrup then poured it over the squash, and mixed it in. I took out the walnuts because my mother-in-law has an allergic reaction to them, and replaced them with craisins. This was the only thing I did not like about it. I generally love cranberries, but I did not like the flavor they added to this. Next time I will use pecans (mother-in-law only reacts to walnuts), or I could see pistachios tasting good in this. I also thought it could use a little more salt, but I tend to like more of a salty/sweet flavor in squash. My kids liked this too, and I ate some leftovers for breakfast the day after Christmas. I'll be adding this to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This recipe gets a five for the great idea of how to peel acorn squash and its quickness. The taste is quite similar to many other acorn squash recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Im not into squash and i like this. I added more sugar and butter because you cant really go wrong with more of those. I also added a little nutmeg. Overall an easy to make fall dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
This is fantastic! I even got my husband to eat squash. Instead of cinnamon I actually used some pumpkin pie spice, which includes cinnamon as well as other spices. so yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Yum. Cooked at 300deg for an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Burke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Wonderful! another tip for peeling the squash- I used a grapefruit spoon - the kind with the serrated edge- for the valleys... worked great! Thanks for an easy and nutritious side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEE0987

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crowley, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
this was really good. It was time consuming to peel, and I didn't really like the texture of the squash. I will make this again, maybe trying a different type of squash next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
Tasted delicious! I did have to cook it an extra 10 minutes on high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
very yummy! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States