Acorn Squash with Apple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
This is so easy and yummy! I made it with three small acorn squash, three granny smith apples, and doubled the rest of the ingredients to make eight nice servings. It's sweet and tasty. The squash boiling is briliant and is totally the tip to this working so fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Pleasantly surprised by the yummy-ness of this recipe. The apples go great with the squash and add sweetness. Doubled all the ingredients expect for the brown sugar and the recipe turned out great. The peeling method was also quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
3 1/2 stars I followed the recipe to a T. It was good; texture, sweetness, instructions were on the mark. I gave it 3 1/2 stars because even though we liked it, we didn't LOVE it. It was a nice, easy recipe to try and it gave use a different vegetable side dish to eat. (I used Granny Smith apples)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by family of five

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Tasty! Despite the tips, the squash was still a major pain to chop and peel. Not sure if I will go through the trouble again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bubilina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
My mother-in-law and I are the only squash eaters in my husband's side of the family, and I was asked to bring some to our Christmas dinner. I thought this looked interesting because I love sweet potatoes and apples, and I've always thought acorn squash has a similar taste to sweet potatoes. We really liked it. I did increase the cinnamon to a full teaspoon, and added 1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg and cardamom. Instead of dotting the squash and apples with butter, I melted the butter, and then mixed it in a separate bowl with the sugar, salt, and spices, and also added a tablespoon of lite pancake syrup then poured it over the squash, and mixed it in. I took out the walnuts because my mother-in-law has an allergic reaction to them, and replaced them with craisins. This was the only thing I did not like about it. I generally love cranberries, but I did not like the flavor they added to this. Next time I will use pecans (mother-in-law only reacts to walnuts), or I could see pistachios tasting good in this. I also thought it could use a little more salt, but I tend to like more of a salty/sweet flavor in squash. My kids liked this too, and I ate some leftovers for breakfast the day after Christmas. I'll be adding this to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This recipe gets a five for the great idea of how to peel acorn squash and its quickness. The taste is quite similar to many other acorn squash recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Im not into squash and i like this. I added more sugar and butter because you cant really go wrong with more of those. I also added a little nutmeg. Overall an easy to make fall dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
This is fantastic! I even got my husband to eat squash. Instead of cinnamon I actually used some pumpkin pie spice, which includes cinnamon as well as other spices. so yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Yum. Cooked at 300deg for an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Wonderful! another tip for peeling the squash- I used a grapefruit spoon - the kind with the serrated edge- for the valleys... worked great! Thanks for an easy and nutritious side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEE0987

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crowley, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States