Acorn Squash with Apple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Is it just me, or does anyone else find this too salty? It barely tasted sweet to me. Not bad, but not what I expected. Next time I'll definitely leave out the 1/2 tsp of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
My entire family & guests loved this recipe! I followed the oven variation since I prefer not to cook in the microwave. Turned out wonderfully! The directions to peel an acorn squash works very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovinlife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
A great combo and a wonderful dish to our turkey. I will definitely make this again. And again. And again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Piques

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
First time trying acorn squash. Made this as a side dish for Thanksgiving dinner. Used three apples instead of two and increased cinnamon as we like cinnamon. While it is pretty good, I think it is best in small doses as it is kinda sweet. I just don't think I like a dessert-type vegetable along side my roast beef, mashed potatoes and gravy, and peas and carrots. Even though it wasn't bad, I highly doubt that I will make it again. Family didn't mind it either but felt the same as I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Excellent recipe. I made it exactly as described, except I used a little extra brown sugar & cinnamon because I had a HUGE acorn squash from the garden. Next time I might do two things different. I'l leave out the butter, which really isn't critical to the recipe and I prefer to cook without fat. I might also try adding some raisins, which should plump up nicely in the cooking juices. Thanks so much for this simple, tasty recipe! I plan to make it for Thanksgiving this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This is really yummy. A quick version when you have less time or don't want to go to all the work---half your squash, clean it out and bake in oven til tender, or microwave. Fill cavities with apple pie filling and bake another 10-15 minutes. Delish! My 11 year old will even eat this--an entire half!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
We love this recipe! I sometimes make it just as the recipe says, (except I use brown Splenda to cut the carbs, as I am diabetic, and salt substiture.) I also serve the same basic recipe, but just cut the squash in half, add the apples and walnuts with the sugar mixture and bake the halves in the oven. Either way, it is a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This was a great recipe for squash. The only downside (for me) is the prep. I used a veggie peeler to take the skin off, since I didn't want to wait 20 mintues just to peel it. Otherwise, it tasted really good, with a mixture of brown sugar, maple syrup and honey. It did take a bit longer than an hour for the squash to bake up tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
Yummy! Used red delicious apples. Make apple chunks the same size as squash. Add more pecans (walnuts) and cinnamon. Didn't take as long to microwave as recipe indicated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This was very good, but it could use more flavor. I added a little more cinnamon and like someone else's review I added some nutmeg, but it still needed something more. I'll be tweaking the next time I make it, but it's a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Montour Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States