Acorn Squash with Apple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Big hit with the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
My boyfriend and I were splint on this one. I thouht the flavor and the apples were great, but couldn't get too excited about the acorn squash. I'd never had acorn squash before so I guess it's just not my thing. I did add an extra tablespoon of brown sugar. My boyfriend also suggested that I chop the squash and apples into smaller pieces so that you get more of a melding of flavor in each bite. He loved it, so I'll be making again I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by serenity8675

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Meadville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
This recipe got everyone in my house excited about acorn squash! It was delicious. Thanks! The peeling instructions were super helpful, btw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyrone, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Very good fall side dish. Will definitely make again, even though my picky son only ate two bites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I thought this was great! My only complaint that it took awhile to peel. I added some dried cranberries - very delicious. They plumped up nicely from the moisture of the squash. Next time I will add more nuts - I don't think a tablespoon was enough. The sweetness was perfect; contrary to other reviews, the sweetness was perfect - adding more sugar would make it too dessert-like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I made this with a huge squash from the garden and 3 apples. No one was impressed. For all the work of peeling it I think I'll stick with baking the halves. I will say the peeling method worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FISHGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encampment, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Is it just me, or does anyone else find this too salty? It barely tasted sweet to me. Not bad, but not what I expected. Next time I'll definitely leave out the 1/2 tsp of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
My entire family & guests loved this recipe! I followed the oven variation since I prefer not to cook in the microwave. Turned out wonderfully! The directions to peel an acorn squash works very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovinlife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
A great combo and a wonderful dish to our turkey. I will definitely make this again. And again. And again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Piques

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
First time trying acorn squash. Made this as a side dish for Thanksgiving dinner. Used three apples instead of two and increased cinnamon as we like cinnamon. While it is pretty good, I think it is best in small doses as it is kinda sweet. I just don't think I like a dessert-type vegetable along side my roast beef, mashed potatoes and gravy, and peas and carrots. Even though it wasn't bad, I highly doubt that I will make it again. Family didn't mind it either but felt the same as I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States