Acorn Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SStephan
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
The flavors were so great! This soup is so yummy. I did alter it a bit - I didn't have curry or celery and I only had baby onions, so I sauted the onions and sprinkled onion salt, celery salt, and garlic salt - also, the flour seemed unnecessary so I omitted that. I also added a 8 oz package of cream cheese. Yum. To cook the squash: Microwave the full, uncut squash on high for 5 minutes. Cut down center, remove seeds with ice cream scooper. Place halves face down, microwave 8 minutes (or until you see it "wilt"), one half at a time. Let cool, and scoop out with ice cream scooper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SStephan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This is a great recipe and I would give it 5 stars without alteration. I cooked a fresh acorn squash by cutting it in half, taking out the seeds, and putting both halfs cut side down on a cookie sheet and baking at 350 for about 35 minutes depending on the size of the squash. Acorn squash is hard to overcook. We love extra flavors, so I used 1/2 teaspoon each of curry powder, ginger powder, cumin, and paprika. I didn't use bacon and don't think it's necessary. I got major compliments from two guys who love to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
This was very good! I didn't use the bacon and i used vegetable broth so that it was vegetarian. The curry really defines this soup. I loved it and I'm not a huge squash or soup person. A hard crusted baguette with butter would be a simple compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Griswold, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Jonesboro, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
This was a really wonderful soup recipe--one I will surely make again. Husband loved it, even though he was wary of the acorn squash he saw sitting on the counter. :) I used one large squash, which lended the perfect consistency and taste. I also subbed fat free half and half for the evaporated milk, giving the soup a very rich, decadent flavor without adding extra fat. An extra 1/2 teaspoon of curry powder and a pinch of ginger powder rounded things out, and voila... the perfect bowl of soup! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIEMONSTER803

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
Wonderful! Although I had to substitute 2% milk for the evaporated milk, it still came out really good. I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watertown, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Vernon, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
My husband and I really enjoyed this delicious soup. I did not have celery or bacon and it was still very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
The best squash soup I've tried. I added 3 cups of stock to make a more soupy consistancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Soup was excellent. Thick, tasty and filling. Didn't alter the recipe at all although I assumed on the direction as they were brief.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
Unbelievably good soup! I bought really good curry powder and wanted to use it and this was perfect. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
I think this would be excellent if you enjoyed the taste/texture of squash more than I do. I wanted to be brave, so we tried it. It went well with seasoned pork chops, though, so I would recommend that as a side. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States