Acorn Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SStephan
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
The flavors were so great! This soup is so yummy. I did alter it a bit - I didn't have curry or celery and I only had baby onions, so I sauted the onions and sprinkled onion salt, celery salt, and garlic salt - also, the flour seemed unnecessary so I omitted that. I also added a 8 oz package of cream cheese. Yum. To cook the squash: Microwave the full, uncut squash on high for 5 minutes. Cut down center, remove seeds with ice cream scooper. Place halves face down, microwave 8 minutes (or until you see it "wilt"), one half at a time. Let cool, and scoop out with ice cream scooper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SStephan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This is a great recipe and I would give it 5 stars without alteration. I cooked a fresh acorn squash by cutting it in half, taking out the seeds, and putting both halfs cut side down on a cookie sheet and baking at 350 for about 35 minutes depending on the size of the squash. Acorn squash is hard to overcook. We love extra flavors, so I used 1/2 teaspoon each of curry powder, ginger powder, cumin, and paprika. I didn't use bacon and don't think it's necessary. I got major compliments from two guys who love to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
This was very good! I didn't use the bacon and i used vegetable broth so that it was vegetarian. The curry really defines this soup. I loved it and I'm not a huge squash or soup person. A hard crusted baguette with butter would be a simple compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Griswold, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Jonesboro, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
This was a really wonderful soup recipe--one I will surely make again. Husband loved it, even though he was wary of the acorn squash he saw sitting on the counter. :) I used one large squash, which lended the perfect consistency and taste. I also subbed fat free half and half for the evaporated milk, giving the soup a very rich, decadent flavor without adding extra fat. An extra 1/2 teaspoon of curry powder and a pinch of ginger powder rounded things out, and voila... the perfect bowl of soup! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIEMONSTER803

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
Wonderful! Although I had to substitute 2% milk for the evaporated milk, it still came out really good. I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watertown, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Vernon, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
My husband and I really enjoyed this delicious soup. I did not have celery or bacon and it was still very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
The best squash soup I've tried. I added 3 cups of stock to make a more soupy consistancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Soup was excellent. Thick, tasty and filling. Didn't alter the recipe at all although I assumed on the direction as they were brief.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
Unbelievably good soup! I bought really good curry powder and wanted to use it and this was perfect. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
I think this would be excellent if you enjoyed the taste/texture of squash more than I do. I wanted to be brave, so we tried it. It went well with seasoned pork chops, though, so I would recommend that as a side. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States