Acorn Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
wow, just, wow. this is delicious! and i don't normally like curry. this is just the right amount of sweet, nutty and a hint of spicey to make a hearty main dish or a great side. I could also see this going well as a sauce on top of pork or chicken (a little thicker). my csa this week gave me way too many acorn squash and i had to find a way to use them up. i used a bit more squash than what the recipe called for, probably around 3 cups, and added a little more liquid (water, milk, broth) to even it out. I also used ghee instead of butter for a nuttier taste. additionally, i did not have condensed milk, so used a combo of 2% and whipping cream. it turned out wonderfully! i plan on trying a paleo-safe version (ghee, organic broth, coconut milk). thank you for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jill
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Great recipe! I added carrots and doubled the veggies but this recipe would be good as is, as well. Very warming and hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Amazing! Husband bought acorn squash instead of butternut and I found this recipe. Followed it exactly and only wish I used fresh garlic in there somewhere. Ended up putting some garlic powder in the end. Oh and I did not use bacon. It was so yummy and hubby LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Excellent as is or using vegetable broth instead of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiger cub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Great recipe. Everyone loves it! I highly recommend this soup to veggie lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
This is a great recipe. My husband and two boys (6 & 3yrs old) really liked it. I'm not sure my kids would have even tried it if the bacon wasn't crumbled on top--they were glad they tried it! I made a few tweaks--added a bit more broth so it wasn't so thick, used fat-free half and half to make it a bit healthier and upped the curry powder by another 1/4t. Yummm. The consistency wasn't perfect--just a tiny bit gritty gritty, which is why I didn't give it 5 stars, but I will still make this again. It may have been something on my end. Also, to cook the acorn squash, I cut it in half, removed the seeds and placed each half face down in a 9x13 dish with about an inch of water. I baked it at 350 for about 45 min. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Mildly flavored with no "chunks," this is a nice starter-type soup. Because the flavor of the soup itself is so subtle, it very much requires the boost of flavor the curry, dill and bacon contribute. It does not, however, need the flour, which I omitted. A very simple but lovely soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
wow wow wow wow wow!!! I used to hate squash. really. I'd stay far away from it. My brother made squash soup once and I had to struggle to keep it down! My mom gave me an acorn squash and I just pictured me throwing it out the car door on the way home. I found this recipe and gave it a shot because I can't stand to see food go to waste. I have never been so happy to be proven wrong - clearly my brother had no idea what he was doing. This is a fantastic recipe. I made no alterations at all, every ingredient compliments each other so well. Actually I made one change, I didn't puree the soup mainly from laziness. I like chunky soup though. I will be making this again and it's so healthy and good calorie-wise for anyone wondering. It made 45 oz, 7.5 oz a serving. WOW!!! THANKS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vettle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
I thought this soup was just perfect! I made it almost exactly like the recipe with two changes. I had no celery, so I skipped that and I added two small potatoes (peeled, which I roasted at the same time I was cooking the squash). I thought the starchiness of the potatoes gave it an excellent texture. I doubled all the spices too. Except the dill. I maybe 1 and 1/2 ed that. Definitely reccommend this soup, but only if you're a curry fan. (It is a mellow curry flavor though.) Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Totally awesome.i backed my acorn squash til it was tender.then added bacon, 3 carrots, zuchini, in chunks,the rest I oureedwith my Ninja blender.Spiced it with cumin, curry and cayenne pepper, salt and pepper to taste.Added half and half heavy cream"It is so creamy.I have my own veggies and this acorn came from there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States