Acorn Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Made this and loved it! I didn't put it in the blender, but mashed the ingredients before heating - it was awesome! Simple and savory - I did add more curry and a dash of hot sauce and so enjoyed it! Thanks so much! I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Came out alright but very time consuming. Jordan wasn't thrilled about it though. We decided we didn't like it together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This recipe was very good. I added more curry, used chix broth and no evap milk as I didn't have it. I added some 2 % milk instead. Super flavorful and freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GABRIELLAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonn, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Mundelein, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
This is a very delicious recipe!! I made a few changes. I included a garlic clove when I sautéed the onion and celery. I didn't have chicken bouillon granules, so I just left them out. I also replaced the evaporated milk with whipping cream. Lastly, I used autumn cup squash instead of acorn. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
followed the recipe except for these changes: - Used 2 heaping teaspoons of curry powder - no dill weed - no evaporated milk, used an 8 oz. block of 1/4 less fat cream cheese - no chicken broth, used 2 cups of water instead - no chick bouillon granules, just a teaspoon of salt instead - added 2 tsp. of minced garlic in with the onions - added a can of black beans - added 3/4 cup of rice and extra water to allow for absorption these changes have made it an incredibly flavorful and hearty soup, a delicious savory meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This recipe is awesome. Thank you for the person who said to cook the acorn in the microwave. I did that and it was perfect and easy to make the soup. Loved it. Just need some crusty bread on the side. This is a keeper recipe will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Delicious. Leftovers even went!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buffy S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geneva, Illinois, USA
Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
This is a 5 Star recipe. I was tired of preparing acorn squash my usual way, so I found this easy recipe. I happened to have all the ingredients on hand, even the evaporated milk, which makes me believe this recipe was meant to pour warmth into my heart. I'm in love
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Yummy in my tummy! So delicious and so good for you. No heavy cream! Used 3 cups of chicken broth, to make it a little thinner. Used Fat Free evaporated milk and garnished with crumbled croutons instead of bacon. Also added a dash of nutmeg and upped the curry to 3/4 tsp. Used my immersion blender right in the pot to blend everything up. Next time will add some chopped carrots for a little sweetness and extra veg. Really easy to make. Tasted even better the next day! We got a bumper crop of acorn squash from our CSA, so we have been freezing pureed squash and will definitely be using this recipe this Winter. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I just made this with a few changes - I added about 1/4 tsp of celery salt to the 1/4 cup celery, because I LOVE what celery does to soups. I added a second dash of cayenne, and a healthy spoonful of curry. Instead of evaporated milk, I added 1/4-1/2 c heavy cream (I eyeballed it, sorry). This was AMAZING. Seriously, it didn't even need the bacon... which is saying a lot, because everything is better with bacon. Even BACON needs more bacon. But not this - it was superb on its own. Whomever created this is pure genius. I LOVE it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States